Graphic Novels

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Graphic Novels from Keatinge & del Duca, Williams & Coleby, and Zimmerman & Scott | Xpress Reviews

royals121914

A fully developed cast of well-rounded characters from Keatinge and del Duca; an informed, provocative alternate history from Williams and Coleby; and fascinating true-life tales of espionage, diplomacy, and high-tech aerospace innovation

Graphic Novels from Belliveau, Maroh, Puryear & Alexander, Roy & Wordie, and More | Xpress Reviews

concretepark121214

Personal-sketch fans might appreciate Belliveau, a rare English-language translation of Maroh’s work, a unique and mature twist on the “prison planet” trope, visually intriguing art and a thoughtful palette from Roy and Wordie

Graphic Novels from Geary, Mulligan/Ostertag, Peeters, Sakai, Vachss | Xpress Reviews

usagi120414

Geary’s “Victorian Murder” series is offbeat but fascinating, a satisfying webcomic transferred successfully to the printed page, Peeters paints a vivid alien landscape, Sakai’s Usagi belongs in all libraries, Vachss is unique but choppy.

Graphic Novels from Harris, Hermann & Yves H., Hubert & Caillou, and Vansant | Xpress Reviews

adrian112114

A smart and quirky tale from Harris, a sobering cautionary parable from Hermann & Yves H., a this sensitive coming-of-age-gay tale from Hubert & Caillou, and a useful introduction to the Battle of the Bulge from Vansant

Graphic Novels from Pak & Lee and Rabaté | Xpress Reviews

streetview111414

Batman and Superman in various incarnations battle it out; a gorgeous and engaging wordless play from Rabaté

Graphic Novels from Higgins, Siegel, & Reis and Ollmann | Xpress Reviews

cowl110714

Moody, atmospheric art and the surprise cliff-hanger ending will leave readers of C.O.W.L. hankering for more; Ollmann’s volume will become a favorite of graphic novel fans with a literary bent

Davis, Hubert & Kerascoet, McCloud, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

thesculptor103114

How To Be Happy is an elegant, sophisticated smorgasbord for lovers of literary comics, McCloud’s Scultpor is an outstanding achievement, extraordinarily moving and memorable.

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

dragonsbreath102414

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

New York Comic Con: Highlights and Surprises

americanbornchinese101414

It has been reported that 151,000 people attended New York Comic Con this past weekend, causing the annual event to beat its unrelated competitor, San Diego Comic-Con, in size. I last attended Comic-Con in 2009, as an ardent supporter of graphic novels. This time I attended for Library Journal, purposely seeking out panels about diversity […]

Graphic Novelists Filiu & David B., Hubert & Kerascoet, Kindt & Others, and More | Xpress Reviews

justiceleague101014

A strong work on an extremely important bit of history, a delightfully French story that is unusual and unnerving, a book only for hard-core crime fans and sf fiends, and courageously bringing DC’s finest to the edge of despair

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin