Graphic Novels

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Graphic Novels from Harris, Hermann & Yves H., Hubert & Caillou, and Vansant | Xpress Reviews

adrian112114

A smart and quirky tale from Harris, a sobering cautionary parable from Hermann & Yves H., a this sensitive coming-of-age-gay tale from Hubert & Caillou, and a useful introduction to the Battle of the Bulge from Vansant

Graphic Novels from Pak & Lee and Rabaté | Xpress Reviews

streetview111414

Batman and Superman in various incarnations battle it out; a gorgeous and engaging wordless play from Rabaté

Graphic Novels from Higgins, Siegel, & Reis and Ollmann | Xpress Reviews

cowl110714

Moody, atmospheric art and the surprise cliff-hanger ending will leave readers of C.O.W.L. hankering for more; Ollmann’s volume will become a favorite of graphic novel fans with a literary bent

Davis, Hubert & Kerascoet, McCloud, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

thesculptor103114

How To Be Happy is an elegant, sophisticated smorgasbord for lovers of literary comics, McCloud’s Scultpor is an outstanding achievement, extraordinarily moving and memorable.

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

dragonsbreath102414

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

New York Comic Con: Highlights and Surprises

americanbornchinese101414

It has been reported that 151,000 people attended New York Comic Con this past weekend, causing the annual event to beat its unrelated competitor, San Diego Comic-Con, in size. I last attended Comic-Con in 2009, as an ardent supporter of graphic novels. This time I attended for Library Journal, purposely seeking out panels about diversity […]

Graphic Novelists Filiu & David B., Hubert & Kerascoet, Kindt & Others, and More | Xpress Reviews

justiceleague101014

A strong work on an extremely important bit of history, a delightfully French story that is unusual and unnerving, a book only for hard-core crime fans and sf fiends, and courageously bringing DC’s finest to the edge of despair

Graphic Novels from Coe, Fiffe, Soule & Daniel, Vaughan & Co., Plus Jewish Comix | Xpress Reviews

supermanwonder100314

A solid coming-of-age memoir from Coe, stream of consciousness from Fiffe, an expressive anthology of comic adaptations of Jewish stories, the perfect super power couple, a tale for those who enjoy smart, accessible, and relevant

Graphic Novels from Davis, McKean, and Ostrander & Mandrake | Xpress Reviews

motherlessoven091914

A wonderfully told story of a boy coming of age and coming to terms, a superb print exhibition of McKean’s varied talents and styles, a confusing read for those unfamiliar with the first Martian Manhunter title

Aguirre-Sacasa/Francavilla, Anglo/Leach, Lanzac/Blain, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

miracleman091514

Afterlife with Archie casts off the typical Archie comic lightheartedness; Michael Moran once again becomes the super­powerful Miracleman; Masterful Marks for artists interested in doing biography comics.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin