Graphic Novels

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

A Graphic Novel from Manchette and Tardi | Xpress Reviews

runlikecrazy022015

Manchette and Tardi’s well-paced, violent graphic novel grabs readers and doesn’t let go until the end

Graphic Novels from Davodeau and Fraction & Co. | Xpress Reviews

luluanew021315

Readers embark on a thought-provoking journey with Davodeau; Fraction and Company eschew worldbuilding in favor of sexbots and gunfights

Graphic Novels from Cunningham and Stok | Xpress Reviews

vincent020615

An economics treatise that would have worked better as a nonvisual essay; an emotional, informative, and inspirational biography of van Gogh

21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes

spidermen12915

In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Ikeda and Loeb & others | Xpress Reviews

superman013015

The yuri genre gets translated into English with two from Ikeda; Loeb and company gloriously rerelease Superman for All Seasons

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Graphic Novels from Bagge, Barry, Casey & Co., and Dahl | Xpress Reviews

sweatshop011615

Bagge brings a tense, frantic-paced underground-comic style to the workplace, Barry will be appreciated most by her fans, and Dahl’s intriguing collection is for aficionados of Japanese culture

Graphic Novels: Best American Comics, Jansson, Lovecraft & Culbard, Rucka & Co. | Xpress Reviews

moomin010915

A pleasing range of comics for “Best of” in 2014, a grand tribute to Jansson’s life and work, for dark fantasy and Lovecraft devotees, and a fantastic dystopian novel from Rucka et al.

Brabner/Zingarelli, Dingle, Opotowsky/Hoffmeister, Simon/Kirby, & Others | Graphic Novels Reviews, January 2015

Noctunrecover010615

A highly worthwhile volume shedding light on a too-long darkened corner of comics history; Little Nemo is essential for art libraries and McCay’s most avid fans; a lovely magical-realist fable; a solid bet for lovers of philosophical, alt-world fiction.

Reviewers of the Year 2014

ljx150101webReviewerBurch

To our hundreds of tireless reviewers who provide librarians with reviews by their peers that reflect the usefulness—or the opposite—of a given resource, a big thank you! Here, each review editor names her reviewer of the year for 2014.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin