Graphic Novels

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Nonfiction on Parenthood, Growing More Vegetables, and Hip-Hop Artist Gucci Mane | Xpress Reviews

Guaranteed to make any expectant mother weep but not a requirement for libraries; for a more productive garden that ultimately will lead to a more healthy environment for us all; recommended for rap music scholars and fans of Gucci Mane and trap music

Genre Mashups & Original Retellings | Graphic Novels Reviews

Many of the books reviewed this month feature genre mashups and showcase how in the right hands such works can completely transcend their origins.

Eric Reynolds: Fantagraphics Books | Eye on Publishing

Passionate, informed, and with a palpable commitment to turning his artistic vision into reality, Eric Reynolds is not shy when it comes to discussing the value of comics, which he sees as a medium with a fundamental purpose: to make art.

Editors’ Fall Picks 2017

Forty-one timely titles for autumn and beyond

Graphic Novels from Cates & Co. and Wertz | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for readers who enjoy epic fantasy in rural settings; for anyone who enjoys graphic nonfiction and biography and especially for those interested in New York City’s various buildings and types of architecture

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, September 1, 2017

A tension-filled tour de force of suspense and human emotions from debuter Nelson; Snow’s action-packed, erotic series concludes with a scintillating Rule Changer; Remender and Murphy turn in one of the most fully realized graphic works of the last decade; Nobel Laureate Modiano, Latin American sensation Gamboa, best-selling Israeli author Nevo, and more; Massey’s fans and historical fiction lovers will enjoy this original outing

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow

Graphic Novels from Claveloux, Miller & Co., and Scott & Others | Xpress Reviews

This explicitly adult pop-art fantasia delivers emotional insight and imaginative visuals; Miller and company have brought their best work; this will still certainly satisfy those who want more of the short-lived Ninth Doctor

Graphic Novels from Kirsch; Larsson, Runberg, & Homs; and Various Faces of Horror | Xpress Reviews

A complex story told in a thoughtful, moving manner; a valuable addition, embodying the many strengths that make the format an exceptional medium for modern storytelling; the high level of beautiful and terrifying work ensures that readers will revel in these tales from the first through final page

Graphic Novels from Cloonan & Co., Lansdale and Glanzman, and Ledesma | Xpress Reviews

For anyone who appreciates whimsical melancholy and bright, energetic illustration; mature readers and fans of Django-style Westerns will relish this elaborate short story; not quite popular press but not quite academic