Graphic Novels

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

dragonsbreath102414

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

New York Comic Con: Highlights and Surprises

americanbornchinese101414

It has been reported that 151,000 people attended New York Comic Con this past weekend, causing the annual event to beat its unrelated competitor, San Diego Comic-Con, in size. I last attended Comic-Con in 2009, as an ardent supporter of graphic novels. This time I attended for Library Journal, purposely seeking out panels about diversity […]

Graphic Novelists Filiu & David B., Hubert & Kerascoet, Kindt & Others, and More | Xpress Reviews

justiceleague101014

A strong work on an extremely important bit of history, a delightfully French story that is unusual and unnerving, a book only for hard-core crime fans and sf fiends, and courageously bringing DC’s finest to the edge of despair

Graphic Novels from Coe, Fiffe, Soule & Daniel, Vaughan & Co., Plus Jewish Comix | Xpress Reviews

supermanwonder100314

A solid coming-of-age memoir from Coe, stream of consciousness from Fiffe, an expressive anthology of comic adaptations of Jewish stories, the perfect super power couple, a tale for those who enjoy smart, accessible, and relevant

Graphic Novels from Davis, McKean, and Ostrander & Mandrake | Xpress Reviews

motherlessoven091914

A wonderfully told story of a boy coming of age and coming to terms, a superb print exhibition of McKean’s varied talents and styles, a confusing read for those unfamiliar with the first Martian Manhunter title

Aguirre-Sacasa/Francavilla, Anglo/Leach, Lanzac/Blain, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

miracleman091514

Afterlife with Archie casts off the typical Archie comic lightheartedness; Michael Moran once again becomes the super­powerful Miracleman; Masterful Marks for artists interested in doing biography comics.

Graphic Novels from Brisson & Co., Lapham, and Lemire | Xpress Reviews

murdermedead091214

Brisson and company present gut-wrenching portrayals of humankind, Lapham has expertly crafted a noir tale with great dialog, Lemire’s latest imaginative and personal but too self-indulgent

Graphic Novels from Johnson/Mitten, Koike/Mori, Grant & Co., Ulinich, and Vaughn/Luna | Xpress Reviews

invisibles090514

A magic- and fantasy-heavy, action-packed adventure; classic of the samurai manga; A great introduction to a vibrant dystopia; an exceptional “semiautobiographical” tragicomedy; exploring what it means to be intelligent and human

Graphic Novels from Anno, Bendis, Peyo, & Woodring | Xpress Reviews

inclothescalledfat082914

Manga on mangled vanity; for aspiring pros, on the comics business; nostalgia in blue: The Smurfs Anthology, Woodring’s intersection of comic books and outsider art

Graphic Novels from Collins, Nero & Dowling, and Remender & Co. | Xpress Reviews

deadlyclass082214

A visually lyrical modern fable that manages to be both utterly unique and eerily recognizable, a modern-day cautionary parable with a kick, and a book for fans of stories of espionage, spies, assassins, and high school awkwardness

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin