Graphic Novels

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, February 1, 2018

Fans of Stephen King and Deen Koontz will enjoy this twisted tale of the destructive and sinister power of evil; a Regency-era murder exposes the rot that underlies the period’s glitter—highly recommended; alternately pulse-pounding, brutal, and heartbreakingly tender, this original novel still resonates today; Vlautin delivers a deeply compassionate story made more poignant for its unadorned simplicity

Graphic Novel from Peeters and Phang Smells Like a Western | Xpress Reviews

With sublime artwork showcasing expansive views, gripping action sequences, and quiet moments of character study—for fans of Peeters’s work and unusual graphic novels

Visionary Graphic Narratives: Celebrate Black History Month and Beyond with These Essential Comics

This year’s meaty list of new graphic novels and nonfiction introduces 29 captivating titles.

Reviewers of the Year 2017

In honor of all our reviewers, and especially those whose work made an indelible impression this year, LJ editors thank you for your dedication, expertise, and trusted insights. Here’s to many more years of working and learning together.

Graphic Novels from Parrish, Seluk, and Silloray | Xpress Reviews

Moments of emotional honesty will resonate with those looking for graphic novels focused on LGBTQIA themes; the humor is at times sidesplitting as well as heartwarming—fans of this series will not be disappointed; a fine volume that brings to life a great artist

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, January 2018

This atmospheric mystery vividly captures a diverse, contemporary L.A. that will still be recognizable to readers of Raymond Chandler; Bujold’s many faithful readers will delight in this engaging blend of mystery and magic; a standout contribution to the ever-increasing subgenre of BDSM erotic fiction; Ball combines a travel adventure with a meditation on human kindness to create a deeply perceptive work of essential truths

Graphic Novels from Bates & Co., Brantz, Johnston, and Wagner & Others | Xpress Reviews

Any theoretical physics geek, sf fan, or solid space yarn aficionado will enjoy this tightly rendered tale; for lovers of Gemma Correll’s Instagram feed more; fans of the highest virtuosity in cartooning will relish this deluxe introduction to the Pattersons; for mature lovers of horror, grave tales, and quality artistic craftsmanship

Graphic Novels from Bevilacqua, Ellis & Davis-Hunt, Rubio & Efa, Stein, plus More Superman | Xpress Reviews

A gateway to introduce new readers to the graphic novel medium; a fast-paced story that will attract all sf fans; this beautiful, evocative story will please fans of biography, art history, and impressionism; Stein’s enjoyable autobiographical vignettes; plus Tomasi and Yang redo Superman

Bec & Co., D’Salete, Findakly/Trondheim, Longino & Others, Santos, Starks, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

As comics slide more and more into the mainstream, publishers have increasingly been encouraged to take chances on critical and historical texts exploring the medium and its cultural impact.

A Course in Comics | Collection Development: Graphic Novels & Nonfiction

The explosion of artistic expression and the breadth of subject matter in the current comics scene are astounding, so libraries can reflect their patron mix, emphasize diverse experiences, and provide popular works alongside those ripe for discovery. These 27 titles are the tip of the graphic iceberg.