Holiday Stories, Family-Centered Charmers, Paranormal Twists | Romance Reviews, October 15, 2016

christmasbride2-jpgthumb

IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS…. Although as of this writing the days are still warm, the leaves are just starting to turn, and it’s not especially Christmassy outside, the romances crossing my desk tell another story.

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles

holidays-jpgthumb

THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Hard Case Crime Teams with Titan Comics

logo-jpg101716

Starting this month, Titan Comics joins forces with the iconic crime fiction imprint Hard Case Crime to launch Hard Case Crime Comics. Releasing both original and adapted works by celebrated authors of the crime genre as well as emerging voices in comics, the new line will boast the same gritty, sexy violence for which the mystery publisher is well known.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016

unblemished-jpgthumb

A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

E-Originals from Howard and Stone, with Debuter De La O | Xpress Reviews

waysyousavedtn

Readers will be so invested in De La O’s protagonists that they’ll keep flipping through the pages; an engaging, nonlinear time line, believable characters, and sweet love scenes give readers all the right emotional tugs; a solid job of showing informed consent without treating the protagonist as broken

All’s Fair in Love | Genre Spotlight: Romance

ljx161002webromancefeaturetop

Romance, like many genres, is continually evolving and broadening its definition with new subgenres, trends, and crossovers.

Fiction from a Debut Author of Inspirational Romance | Xpress Reviews

beneathheavenstn

Taking place at the end of the 19th century, these parallel love stories are intertwined but unique, set against a harsh and sometimes dangerous life

E-Originals from Fox and Mitchell and Holiday Joy from Rains | Xpress Reviews

welcomehometn

A more innocent and realistic romance about two people who find happiness through craft beer; first love, family drama, and acceptance but no safe sex; seasonal love story about two selfless people looking out for everyone around them

Littlejohn’s Debut of the Month, McCoy, Zahradnik, French, plus New Series Lineup | Mystery Reviews, October 1, 2016

inheritthebones-jpgthumb

What will you recommend for your readers during the spooky holiday season?

Bridget Jones, Before and Beyond | RA Crossroads

bridget_joness_baby_poster-jpg92716-jpgthumb

Welcome to Readers’ Advisory (RA) Crossroads, where books, movies, music, and other media converge and whole-collection RA service goes where it may. In this column, all things Bridget Jones and the chick lit backlist lead me down a winding path.