For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles


THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Hard Case Crime Teams with Titan Comics


Starting this month, Titan Comics joins forces with the iconic crime fiction imprint Hard Case Crime to launch Hard Case Crime Comics. Releasing both original and adapted works by celebrated authors of the crime genre as well as emerging voices in comics, the new line will boast the same gritty, sexy violence for which the mystery publisher is well known.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Littlejohn’s Debut of the Month, McCoy, Zahradnik, French, plus New Series Lineup | Mystery Reviews, October 1, 2016


What will you recommend for your readers during the spooky holiday season?

LJ Fiction Reviews: October 15, 2016


Correa delivers an engrossing story of the 1939 voyage of the St. Louis; Lasdun’s latest is an intelligent, disquieting psychothriller; Killer Holiday reads; romance novellas, the perfect stocking stuffer; Cain’s eerie European setting and unpredictable plot is bound to chill

Bouchercon Winners | Anthony, Barry, Macavity Awards 2016


Edgar Award winner Lou Berney hit the awards trifecta at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention in New Orleans when his third novel, The Long and Faraway Gone, garnered the Anthony and Barry Awards for Best Paperback Original and earned the Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel.

The Mystery of Love | The Reader’s Shelf, September 15, 2016


The start of the school year might prompt a new reading plan, such as working through a series one has always wanted to try. For fans of mystery and romance, there are plenty of choices to be had.

LJ Fiction Reviews: October 1, 2016


Scotland is a bonny setting for Colgan’s funny, winsome Bookshop on the Corner; Coover channels the humor and wit of Twain; Gilligan is in new territory examining Ireland’s Jewish community; fresh fiction in translation; debuter Littlejohn writes with assurance and skill; fans will relish Zahradnik’s gritty, powerful crime novel

Baker’s Pick of the Month, DiSilverio, Griffiths, Holm, Gordon, plus New Series Lineup | Mystery Reviews, September 1, 2016


Baker’s new Western series launch; DiSilverio’s stand-alone thriller keeps readers on the edge of their seats; Wild’s atmospheric crime novel is well defined and bound to appeal; fans of historical mysteries will be enthralled by Hart’s fascinating latest

Writing Violence: Chris Holm’s New Thriller Explores Terrorism’s Aftermath


After an act of terror, such as the one that detonates on the opening pages of Red Right Hand, Chris Holm’s second installment of his “Michael Hendricks” series, there are always more questions than answers.