Christian Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

New Hope for Faith-Filled Fiction | Christian Fiction Genre Spotlight

9780373719976_p0_v2_s192x300__1478901236_64489

The inspirational fiction publishing landscape has shifted quite dramatically over the past few years. Can the genre thrive and grow in this challenging environment?

Q&A: Katherine Reay, Author of A Portrait of Emily Price

katherinereay-jpg103116

Katherine Reay made her fiction debut in 2013 with Dear Mr. Knightly, a romantic tale with a soupçon of Jane Austen and new adult appeal. Her novels incorporate literary references with story lines about young women making crucial life decisions.

Ella’s Debut of the Month, Clipston, Wiseman, Reay, Series Lineup, ACFW News | Christian Fiction Reviews, November 1, 2016

unblemished-jpgthumb

DESPITE REPORTS of falling print sales and last year’s shuttering of the fiction imprint of Abingdon Press, the announcement in April of a new CF publisher shows that life remains in the genre.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016

unblemished-jpgthumb

A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Moore’s Debut of the Month, Bunn, Griep, Stevenson, plus New Series Lineup | Christian Fiction Reviews, September 1, 2016

dominoeffect.jpgthumb

Best-selling inspirational author Moore delivers an absorbing, suspenseful read; the ­Brunstetters’ six-part serialized novel will enthrall Amish fiction devotees; Griep’s beautifully drawn protagonists are not to be missed; Rubart pens a mesmerizing tale about one man’s journey of self-realization

Q&A: Beth Moore, Author of The Undoing of Saint Silvanus

bethmoore.jpg82916

Beth Moore makes her fiction debut with The Undoing of Saint Silvanus, a mystery about a New Orleans apartment house, its odd residents, and the family who owns the building.

LJ Fiction Reviews: September 1, 2016

teaplanterswife.jpg81216

Immersive stories of healing & faith from Griep, Rubart, Stevenson; debuter Bennett is sophisticated & nuanced, Donoghue startlingly rewarding; short fiction for fall; Holm’s Red Right Hand is a real thrill ride

Christian Fiction | Best Sellers, July 2016

ifirun.jpgthumb

Kingsbury, the Brunstetters, Robin Lee Hatcher, and more

Higgs’s Debut of the Month, Blackwell’s Starred Return, Stuart, Cambron, & New Series Lineup | Christian Fiction Reviews, June 1, 2016

elegantfacade.jpg6616

THIS SUMMER is shaping up to be a great one for new books from up-and-coming authors, series launches from longtime favorites, and movie tie-ins. Take some time to check out a few titles for yourself and build those readers’ advisory muscles. It’s an easy way to make connections between secular and inspirational offerings.

LJ Fiction Reviews: June 1, 2016

afewrighthinkingmen.jpgthumb

Don’t-miss debuts from Adler, whose Charmers make the perfect beach read; Broun and the Night of the Animals; Gyasi’s Homegoing, an epic vision; Higgs’s Eden Hill nails the feeling of the early 1960s; and Gentill’s politically minded Few Right Thinking Men