Christian Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

LJ Fiction Reviews: March 15, 2017

Inspiring in tone, Denton’s delicious debut delivers a must-read; an excellent series of Sapphic fantasies; McClellan’s skillful worldbuilding and nuanced characters will undoubtedly tempt readers to go back to his earlier work; with hints of a YA coming-of-age tale, Trophy Son will draw in sports fiction fans; Ludwig’s triumphant achievement is borne from his own experience as the adoptive parent of a teen with autism

Boyd/Kirk’s Debut of the Month, Fuller, Liggett, Marasco, Parker, plus New Series Lineup | Christian Fiction Reviews, February 1, 2017

VALENTINE’S DAY is not the only holiday we celebrate in February. Did you know that it is also Library Lovers’ Month? This month’s column reveals that there’s plenty of love to go around.

Q&A: M. Simone Boyd & Onnie I. Kirk Jr.

The Day Sonny Died, coauthored by daughter/father writing team M. Simone Boyd and ­Onnie I. Kirk Jr., is a gritty, poignant, and realistic debut novel about three generations of an African American family struck repeatedly by violent tragedy.

LJ Fiction Reviews: February 1, 2017

Boyd/Kirk take readers behind today’s headlines; Kline expertly captures the essence of Wyeth’s iconic masterpiece; Santiago’s debut ticks all the boxes for a first-rate thriller; Ollmann is an early contender for the best in 2017; Welsh’s debut is an inspiring feminist tale perfect for the modern age

New Hope for Faith-Filled Fiction | Christian Fiction Genre Spotlight

The inspirational fiction publishing landscape has shifted quite dramatically over the past few years. Can the genre thrive and grow in this challenging environment?

Q&A: Katherine Reay, Author of A Portrait of Emily Price

Katherine Reay made her fiction debut in 2013 with Dear Mr. Knightly, a romantic tale with a soupçon of Jane Austen and new adult appeal. Her novels incorporate literary references with story lines about young women making crucial life decisions.

Ella’s Debut of the Month, Clipston, Wiseman, Reay, Series Lineup, ACFW News | Christian Fiction Reviews, November 1, 2016

DESPITE REPORTS of falling print sales and last year’s shuttering of the fiction imprint of Abingdon Press, the announcement in April of a new CF publisher shows that life remains in the genre.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016

A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Moore’s Debut of the Month, Bunn, Griep, Stevenson, plus New Series Lineup | Christian Fiction Reviews, September 1, 2016

Best-selling inspirational author Moore delivers an absorbing, suspenseful read; the ­Brunstetters’ six-part serialized novel will enthrall Amish fiction devotees; Griep’s beautifully drawn protagonists are not to be missed; Rubart pens a mesmerizing tale about one man’s journey of self-realization

Q&A: Beth Moore, Author of The Undoing of Saint Silvanus

Beth Moore makes her fiction debut with The Undoing of Saint Silvanus, a mystery about a New Orleans apartment house, its odd residents, and the family who owns the building.