Christian Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Moore’s Debut of the Month, Bunn, Griep, Stevenson, plus New Series Lineup | Christian Fiction Reviews, September 1, 2016


Best-selling inspirational author Moore delivers an absorbing, suspenseful read; the ­Brunstetters’ six-part serialized novel will enthrall Amish fiction devotees; Griep’s beautifully drawn protagonists are not to be missed; Rubart pens a mesmerizing tale about one man’s journey of self-realization

Q&A: Beth Moore, Author of The Undoing of Saint Silvanus


Beth Moore makes her fiction debut with The Undoing of Saint Silvanus, a mystery about a New Orleans apartment house, its odd residents, and the family who owns the building.

LJ Fiction Reviews: September 1, 2016


Immersive stories of healing & faith from Griep, Rubart, Stevenson; debuter Bennett is sophisticated & nuanced, Donoghue startlingly rewarding; short fiction for fall; Holm’s Red Right Hand is a real thrill ride

Christian Fiction | Best Sellers, July 2016


Kingsbury, the Brunstetters, Robin Lee Hatcher, and more

Higgs’s Debut of the Month, Blackwell’s Starred Return, Stuart, Cambron, & New Series Lineup | Christian Fiction Reviews, June 1, 2016


THIS SUMMER is shaping up to be a great one for new books from up-and-coming authors, series launches from longtime favorites, and movie tie-ins. Take some time to check out a few titles for yourself and build those readers’ advisory muscles. It’s an easy way to make connections between secular and inspirational offerings.

LJ Fiction Reviews: June 1, 2016


Don’t-miss debuts from Adler, whose Charmers make the perfect beach read; Broun and the Night of the Animals; Gyasi’s Homegoing, an epic vision; Higgs’s Eden Hill nails the feeling of the early 1960s; and Gentill’s politically minded Few Right Thinking Men

The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder by Rachel McMillan | LJ Review


Canadian author McMillan makes a terrific debut with this Edwardian mystery, mixing ­Sherlockian deduction with humor and a side order of romance.

McMillan’s Debut of the Month, Afshar, Nappa, Williamson, & New Series | Christian Fiction Reviews, April 1, 2016


SPRING IS the perfect time for revitalizing our collections and our readers’ advisory skills. The face of Christian fiction (CF) is changing, and its popularity as a genre growing.

LJ Fiction Reviews: April 1, 2016


Heart-racing adrenaline reads, atmospheric historicals, an operatic Spur of the Moment, plus revitalizing CF genre debuts, a season of searing erotica series, the moving journey of the Lilac Girls