Genre Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

E-Originals from Cornwall, Meredith, and Smith | Xpress Reviews


This latest from Cornwall is for die-hard fans of Scottish stories; Meredith has added her own spin to Adair’s Kindle World with this middling novella; readers will enjoy the interactions in Smith’s well-written fantasy romance

Johansen’s Pick of the Month, Bonesteel, Cain, Itäranta, Liu, Hugo Awards & New Series Lineup | SF/Fantasy Reviews, October 15, 2016


ANOTHER HALLOWEEN season is upon us, and this October brings several frightful treats, including L.X. Cain’s Bloodwalker, S.L. Grey’s The Apartment, and the new anthology Nightmares, edited by Ellen Datlow.

Holiday Stories, Family-Centered Charmers, Paranormal Twists | Romance Reviews, October 15, 2016


IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS…. Although as of this writing the days are still warm, the leaves are just starting to turn, and it’s not especially Christmassy outside, the romances crossing my desk tell another story.

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles


THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Hard Case Crime Teams with Titan Comics


Starting this month, Titan Comics joins forces with the iconic crime fiction imprint Hard Case Crime to launch Hard Case Crime Comics. Releasing both original and adapted works by celebrated authors of the crime genre as well as emerging voices in comics, the new line will boast the same gritty, sexy violence for which the mystery publisher is well known.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

E-Originals from Howard and Stone, with Debuter De La O | Xpress Reviews


Readers will be so invested in De La O’s protagonists that they’ll keep flipping through the pages; an engaging, nonlinear time line, believable characters, and sweet love scenes give readers all the right emotional tugs; a solid job of showing informed consent without treating the protagonist as broken

All’s Fair in Love | Genre Spotlight: Romance


Romance, like many genres, is continually evolving and broadening its definition with new subgenres, trends, and crossovers.

Fiction from a Debut Author of Inspirational Romance | Xpress Reviews


Taking place at the end of the 19th century, these parallel love stories are intertwined but unique, set against a harsh and sometimes dangerous life

E-Originals from Fox and Mitchell and Holiday Joy from Rains | Xpress Reviews


A more innocent and realistic romance about two people who find happiness through craft beer; first love, family drama, and acceptance but no safe sex; seasonal love story about two selfless people looking out for everyone around them