New and Known | Wyatt’s World

July brings an exciting mix of debut novels and key authors. From longtime favorites to new names to note, these books promise an engrossing month of entertainment. Here are five suggestions that will please a range of readers.

Lisa Ko’s Latest Novel Concerns Us All | LibraryReads Authors

Ko’s nuanced narrative communicates not just the burdens of the immigrant experience but the important lesson that one must learn—and sometimes fight—to be oneself.

Fiction from Davis, Gregory, Lange, Olsen, and Solwitz, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

About another New York City residential landmark; Gregory’s perspective on late Tudor England’s turbulent history will delight fans; Hughes has richly imagined the life of a remarkable historical figure; Lange knows how to reel in his audience with plenty of misdirection; for fans of women’s fiction about couples, families, genealogy, and genetics; great for indulging “the suspension of disbelief” with a unique setting; expect to be taken to the brink more than once—highly recommended

Best Sellers: Books Most Borrowed, June 2017

Baldacci is now a-Fix-ed at No. 1; if you’re not into Hillbilly, try Option B

Wonder Woman, Wonderfully Reinvented | RA Crossroads

Already shaping up to be a cultural touchstone, the new Wonder Woman film illustrates the deep draw of bravery and honor while exploring superhero action and the heroic journey of coming of age.

Fiction from Ben Coes and Laurie R. King and a Slew of Debut Authors | Xpress Reviews

Coes’s series fans will want to get their hands on this new installment; Kennedy’s debut novel is perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lauren Groff, and Jojo Moyes; for fans of King’s Kate Martinelli series; Madrygin’s debut is powerful, eye-opening reading for everyone; a forthright study of a family seeking hope and finding something else; Tallent’s book is ultimately affirmative without the slightest sentimentality, and it’s remarkable; Williams has still crafted a complex and suspenseful tale

First Steps | Debut Novels

Summer fiction titles from first-timers bend the boundaries in this debut preview.

LJ Fiction Reviews: July 2017

With her mordant wit and clever storytelling, Culliton is a young novelist to watch; Moriarty is a gifted author of singular talent; Garrett’s Hollywood Homicide is sure to be a hit with readers seeking a fresh new sleuth; newcomer Klein delivers the next compelling sf technothriller, pleasing fans of Blake Crouch’s Dark Matter

Fiction from Connelly, Healy, Hearne, Koontz, Kuhn, Mallery, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

Put this one in your beach bag; fans will clamor for Connelly’s new protagonist, a female Bosch; Healy delivers a striking, heartbreaking story; this compact volume affirms the strength of Hearne’s urban fantasy series; this new (series!) heroine from Koontz is bound to be an immediate hit; urban fantasy fans seeking novels featuring diverse protagonists should snap up Kuhn’s works; for romance fans and admirers of fresh women’s fiction; debut novelist Maynard crafted a heartwarming coming-of-age story

Things Are Not Always As They Seem: Bone-Chilling Thrillers

A gripping page turner, a satisfying mystery, and psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat; readers who love suspense, horror, and nail-biting-action have come to the right place