Fiction: Acevedo, Billingsley, Carlino, Holahan, MacNeal, Nash, Rushdie, Shamsie, Slaughter, Tuck | Xpress Reviews

This fascinating piece of history should appeal widely; Barber weaves a twisty tale that will grip readers; Billingsley has written another engrossing page-turner; Carlino writes a bittersweet, funny story; Holahan gets better with each novel; a nod to W.E.B. Dubois’s essay “The Talented Tenth”; for someone looking for a new historical mystery; an enjoyable tale of finding oneself and starting afresh; Rushdie should garner even more readers with this cautionary tale; debut author Wolas’s work is breathtaking

South African Thrillers from Meyer and Debuter Steyn

Tense, intriguing, and surprising, Meyer’s thriller is a solid choice for readers who enjoy well-researched and detailed survival stories; Steyn’s Cape Town will be familiar to any city dweller who no longer knows their neighbors and hides behind barred windows

Domestic Suspense from Ellison, Finn, Frances, and Rouda

Fans of Paula Hawkins, A.S.A. Harrison, Mary Kubica, and Karin ­Slaughter will want to add Ellison to their summer reading list; Finn’s riveting and mature first novel stands out in a crowded genre; despite its flaws, Frances’s debut novel will appeal to fans of fast-paced psychological thrillers; Rouda’s latest is destined to fly off the shelves

A Portrait of the Artist: Laurel Davis Huber’s “The Velveteen Daughter” | Debut Spotlight

Following an impulse to investigate an often enjoyed writer/illustrator from her childhood, Laurel Davis Huber embarked on a ten-year adventure that resulted in a captivating debut novel, The Velveteen Daughter, which traces the life of Pamela Bianco, a young artist growing up in early 20th-century America.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, August 2017

Brady’s riveting psychological debut chiller will wow thriller lovers; a must-read for DeMille’s many fans; Ribchester’s fascinating historical mystery is a sure bet for fans of Hitchcockian suspense; sexy, racy, and simmering with heart-pounding passion, Jordan’s latest romp is just plain fun; a Sip of Carr’s haunting first novel will leave readers hopeful for the future

Fiction from Baxter, Grafton, Sharp, Todd, Debuter Nugent, and a Mystery Anthology from Penzler | Xpress Reviews

Baxter’s second take on Wells is appropriate for young adult audiences; for book lovers, short story readers; enjoy Grafton’s California sleuthing sister; for fans of domestic suspense; series fans and Lee Child aficionados will appreciate Sharp’s latest; the new Todd title is flawed but still enjoyable for series fans

Domestic Affairs | Wyatt’s World

Tales of families never fail to fascinate. Whether a story of zany characters or of bonds unraveled, how mothers, fathers, and siblings navigate their unions is always rich reading. Here are four novels and one memoir that solidify these points.

Fiction from Cook and Stratton, with Well-Written Debuts from Avdic and Heacock | Xpress Reviews

Fans of mysteries set in confined environments will tear through this dark thriller debut; Cook’s latest disappoints; a delicious summer treat with just enough sass, sex, and edible glitter; a heartwarming contemporary romance, with a woman of color as the main character

Eve Chase Plumbs the Depths of Sisterly Bonds | LibraryReads Author

In Eve Chase’s sparkling new work, The Wildling Sisters, Jessie finds a glorious old house in the Cotswolds where she can raise her toddler daughter and troubled teenage stepdaughter with fresh abandon.

“Class Mom” Laurie Gelman Earns Top Honors | Debut Spotlight

Laurie Gelman has put her stamp on the world of women’s fiction with her debut novel, Class Mom, which revolves around the antics of kindergarten class mom Jen Dixon.