Fiction from Delaney, Fowler, Harris, Rankin, & Williams | Xpress Reviews

girlbeforetn

Delaney’s Big Brother–esque novel will consume psychological thriller enthusiasts; fans will find pleasures in Fowler’s sprawling, messy mystery; Harris’s sharp-eyed observations of human behavior are on the mark; the thrill of Rankin’s work is still fresh; Williams’s latest is a smart suggestion for fans of strong female characters

Fiction from Hurwitz, Rosenfeld, and Ryan, plus Debuts and Mermaids | Xpress Reviews

nowheremantn

Hurwitz excels at writing smart characters and plots; Luke is another compelling diversion from Ryan; Kamata’s coming-of-age story mixes bits of magical realism with the trials of growing up in the 1970s suburban Midwest

Fiction from Bohjalian, Meyer, Murray, and Debuter McCarthy | Xpress Reviews

sleepwalker-jpgthumb

Bohjalian’s latest will captivate readers who crave an edge-of-your-seat page-turner; mystery fans will be looking forward to the next Dr. Harry Kent novel; a fun read for those who enjoy the lighter side of spy fiction; Murray’s bold historical is wise and good enough

E-Originals from Barnard, March, and Sotto | Xpress Reviews

loveandgravity-3-jpg12116-jpgthumb2

Like the previous series installment, this sequel brings real heart to an exciting fantasy adventure; March’s breathtaking “Thistle Bend” series takes on a “green” bent; Sotto hits all the romantic high notes; highly recommended

All in Good Time | The Reader’s Shelf, November 15, 2016

patience-jpg112916

Just as Ursula K. Le Guin once said, authors help readers sail the river of time. The boarding pass for a story can take one deep into history, far into the future, or allow bibliophiles to bounce back and forth.

Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Winter Fiction in Translation: Top Fiction from Around the World

ties-jpgthumb

Strong if sometimes extended reading for sophisticated readers; fans of Latin American literature will surely want to consider Fuentes’s latest; lovers of both literary fiction and high-end sf can sink into Volodine’s absorbing tale

LJ Fiction Reviews: December 2016

lightofthegarden-jpgthumb

Most readers will enjoy Batuman’s lighthearted and wry debut; it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble; Oust blends just the right ingredients of humor, mystery, and action; it’s the flaws that make romance protagonists perfect Six Wakes delivers the ultimate locked-room mystery with top-notch sf worldbuilding;

Fiction from Banner, Connelly, Flagg, Koike, and Singh, plus an Icelandic Debut | Xpress Reviews

archangels-hearttn

This solid read will please both Connelly’s longtime fans; die-hard Flagg admirers will enjoy this latest title; Jonasson’s debut has transformed the locked-room myster; a translated work to please Asian horror fans; Singh’s latest series entry continues to set the bar high

Alice Hoffman | Spotlight LibraryReads Author, November 15, 2016

faithful-jpgthumb

“This novel comes from lots of different places,” explained Hoffman in a phone interview with LJ, “but one thing I was thinking about was mothers and daughters, and I was missing my own mother.”