Star-Studded Fiction from Burnet, Lamb, Le Guin, and Debuter Street | Xpress Reviews

illtakeyoutheretn

A fast-paced historical crime novel from Booker finalist Burnet; Lamb’s tender, funny, sweet homage to boomers; Le Guin is just as relevant and thought-provoking as ever; Pintoff’s high stakes novel will still appeal to thriller fans; Poe’s devoted readers will rejoice in Street’s debut literary novel

Spotlight on Paulette Jiles | LibraryReads Author, October 15, 2016

newsoftheworld-jpgthumb

In Paulette Jiles’s luminous new novel, Capt. Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels the rough roads of northern Texas after the Civil War reading newspapers to paying crowds. As Jiles explained in a phone interview with LJ, “He wanted to move people into the wonderful world of imagination we all need, which he brings to people under the guise of news.”

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles

holidays-jpgthumb

THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Globe-Spanning Adventures | Wyatt’s World

bygaslight-jpgthumb

October brings a number of particularly riveting crime novels—from legal to historical to quasi-true tales—that allow readers to travel the globe and back in time.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016

unblemished-jpgthumb

A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Fiction from Goodwin, Harris, and Ryan | Xpress Reviews

saynomoretn

The PBS series slated to begin in January should bring heavy demand forVictoria; Harris offers insider details of life at the Vatican; Ryan does it again in her fifth Jane Ryland thriller, a fast-paced, edgy mystery

Fiction from a Debut Author of Inspirational Romance | Xpress Reviews

beneathheavenstn

Taking place at the end of the 19th century, these parallel love stories are intertwined but unique, set against a harsh and sometimes dangerous life

Human Connections | Designing the Future

author_fagan_color

“At the intersection of dystopian fiction and magical realism,” Fagan’s standout second novel, The Sunlight Pilgrims, after her acclaimed debut, The Panopticon, projects a future extrapolated from pressures on the present. “Despite its forbidding setting, [this] remains a hopeful tale about human connections.”

Oh, the Horror! | The Reader’s Shelf, October 1, 2016

thehatching-jpg10316

Here are just some of the debuts that horror fans can look to this ­Halloween season.

Worldwide Reading: Books Beyond the Mainstream That Take Us Far

landoflove-jpgthumb

An enthralling portrait of a time, a place, and one resilient woman; Eir’s deliciously written work is almost as good as going on one’s own spiritual quest; smart and absorbing reading for a wide audience; Laroui is insightful and often blackly funny; Nobel Prize winner Modiano; Tawada’s engaging fable is not just for animal lovers