Fiction from Ashford, Benn, Hamilton, Hansen, Macmillan, Marwood, a Starred Debut | Xpress Reviews


For those interested in Agatha Christie; Benn’s plot is unnecessarily complicated; a terrific debut novel; a behind-the-scenes look into the Chinese underworld; for fans of psychological suspense; a story filled with crafty misdirection

Gayle Forman | LibraryReads Author, September 15, 2016


In Gayle Forman’s Leave Me, a delicious, on-the-mark story of contemporary parenting and one woman’s learning to appreciate herself, readers will readily identify with Maribeth, but is her desperation the classic parent’s bind or something more particular?

Q&A: Kathleen Donohoe | Debut Spotlight, September 15, 2016


Kathleen Donohoe’s debut novel, Ashes of Fiery Weather, offers a bold look at six generations of captivating women in an Irish American family of firefighters living in Brooklyn. Here, she answers questions on everything from her favorite characters to the facts behind her ­fiction.

Armchair Travel: Place and Time | Wyatt’s World


For armchair travelers, these five titles will transport them in time and place.

Fiction from Fraser-Sampson, Mayor, Richman, and Debuter Palacio | Xpress Reviews


The first of a promised, and promising, series from Fraser-Sampson; it never feels like Mayor is pulling the conclusion out of thin air; Palacio’s debut is one of those especially rare novels that will resonate with readers on an achingly deep level; Richman’s tale will appeal to those looking to find a quiet story, touched with a hint of feminist rebellion

Sister Fiction | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016


Kelly writes of heartwarming, character-driven siblings; the joy of Lamb’s intricate story is following her characters to a gloriously happy ending; Noel’s second book is emotionally charged, perfect for fans of Emily Liebert and Emily Giffin

Second Wives | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016


Jefferies’s atmospheric and suspenseful novel will enthrall fans of gothic romances; Rivers’s solid historical novel is a good choice for book clubs and will yield great discussions

New Discoveries: A Variety of Debuts | The Reader’s Shelf, September 1, 2016


Finding a debut author is a special delight for bibliophiles, regardless of their preferred reading matter: fiction, nonfiction, or specific genre. Here are six titles that would never be shelved together but do offer up the delightful promise of a new author.

Tie-In TV | Wyatt’s World


Typically, media tie-ins come out several weeks, if not months, before an expected big-screen success—with splashy covers featuring the stars of the show. Fans of the small screen, however, often have to search the stacks to find a hook. Give them a hand by displaying TV-related works.

LJ Fiction Reviews: September 15, 2016


Put Ackerman on the A-list; Casey’s sophomore work is perfect for fans of women’s fiction; Weinstein’s Children of the New World encapsulate brave possible futures; Girard’s ode to a treasured relationship will appeal to adults and teens; Gigl’s debut fantasy brims with wit and thrills