Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Winter Fiction in Translation: Top Fiction from Around the World

ties-jpgthumb

Strong if sometimes extended reading for sophisticated readers; fans of Latin American literature will surely want to consider Fuentes’s latest; lovers of both literary fiction and high-end sf can sink into Volodine’s absorbing tale

LJ Fiction Reviews: December 2016

lightofthegarden-jpgthumb

Most readers will enjoy Batuman’s lighthearted and wry debut; it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble; Oust blends just the right ingredients of humor, mystery, and action; it’s the flaws that make romance protagonists perfect Six Wakes delivers the ultimate locked-room mystery with top-notch sf worldbuilding;

Fiction from Banner, Connelly, Flagg, Koike, and Singh, plus an Icelandic Debut | Xpress Reviews

archangels-hearttn

This solid read will please both Connelly’s longtime fans; die-hard Flagg admirers will enjoy this latest title; Jonasson’s debut has transformed the locked-room myster; a translated work to please Asian horror fans; Singh’s latest series entry continues to set the bar high

Alice Hoffman | Spotlight LibraryReads Author, November 15, 2016

faithful-jpgthumb

“This novel comes from lots of different places,” explained Hoffman in a phone interview with LJ, “but one thing I was thinking about was mothers and daughters, and I was missing my own mother.”

Travel Through Jewish Fiction: Celebrate Jewish Book Month with These Titles and Read-Alikes

gameofqueens-jpgthumb

With this sampling of just-released 2016 and backlisted 2015 titles, there’s something for every reader to enjoy during Jewish Book Month.

Fall Indie Fiction: Best Novels and Short Stories Beyond the Mainstream

shelterinplace-jpgthumb

Fun, propulsive reading that really is about the hunt, not the treasure; an embracingly and impeccably penned study of one woman’s anguish; brightly and incisively written, this is a well-rendered portrait of a stranger among us

Fiction from Manaster and Debuter Smith | Xpress Reviews

donethingtn

Manaster has written a deeply human and morally saturated novel, with captivating language; while debuter Smith’s protagonists are well drawn, it’s hard to care for a relationship that seems so disengaged

Resilient Rulers: From Victoria to Cixi to Catherine the Great | RA Crossroads

victoriathequeen-jpgthumb2

Welcome to Readers’ Advisory (RA) Crossroads, where books, movies, music, and other media converge and whole-collection RA service goes where it may. In this column, Queen Victoria leads me down a winding path.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 15, 2016

roadtoenchantment-jpgthumb2

Debuter Fabiaschi is a perfect choice for book clubs; an enthralling retelling of the women of Troy; recent Jewish fiction; a roundup of top indie picks; graphic novels for Black History Month; for fans of magic-based fantasy, Shinn blends a potent brew of politics and alchemy