LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016

unblemished-jpgthumb

A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Fiction from Goodwin, Harris, and Ryan | Xpress Reviews

saynomoretn

The PBS series slated to begin in January should bring heavy demand forVictoria; Harris offers insider details of life at the Vatican; Ryan does it again in her fifth Jane Ryland thriller, a fast-paced, edgy mystery

Fiction from a Debut Author of Inspirational Romance | Xpress Reviews

beneathheavenstn

Taking place at the end of the 19th century, these parallel love stories are intertwined but unique, set against a harsh and sometimes dangerous life

Human Connections | Designing the Future

author_fagan_color

“At the intersection of dystopian fiction and magical realism,” Fagan’s standout second novel, The Sunlight Pilgrims, after her acclaimed debut, The Panopticon, projects a future extrapolated from pressures on the present. “Despite its forbidding setting, [this] remains a hopeful tale about human connections.”

Oh, the Horror! | The Reader’s Shelf, October 1, 2016

thehatching-jpg10316

Here are just some of the debuts that horror fans can look to this ­Halloween season.

Worldwide Reading: Books Beyond the Mainstream That Take Us Far

landoflove-jpgthumb

An enthralling portrait of a time, a place, and one resilient woman; Eir’s deliciously written work is almost as good as going on one’s own spiritual quest; smart and absorbing reading for a wide audience; Laroui is insightful and often blackly funny; Nobel Prize winner Modiano; Tawada’s engaging fable is not just for animal lovers

Bridget Jones, Before and Beyond | RA Crossroads

bridget_joness_baby_poster-jpg92716-jpgthumb

Welcome to Readers’ Advisory (RA) Crossroads, where books, movies, music, and other media converge and whole-collection RA service goes where it may. In this column, all things Bridget Jones and the chick lit backlist lead me down a winding path.

LJ Fiction Reviews: October 15, 2016

fieldswheretheylay-jpgthumb

Correa delivers an engrossing story of the 1939 voyage of the St. Louis; Lasdun’s latest is an intelligent, disquieting psychothriller; Killer Holiday reads; romance novellas, the perfect stocking stuffer; Cain’s eerie European setting and unpredictable plot is bound to chill

Fiction from Grisham and Woods, a Debut, and Best American Science Fiction | Xpress Reviews

whistlertn

For sophisticated sf/fantasy readers; a captivating and suspenseful tale from Grisham; a debut that doesn’t quite catch fire; noir with a side of vulgar

Fall/Winter Debut Novels 2016

ljx161001webfirstellisjanet

Personal reading and the input of LJ reviewers stand behind the selection of these upcoming debut novels as titles worth watching.