Wonder Woman, Wonderfully Reinvented | RA Crossroads

Already shaping up to be a cultural touchstone, the new Wonder Woman film illustrates the deep draw of bravery and honor while exploring superhero action and the heroic journey of coming of age.

Fiction from Ben Coes and Laurie R. King and a Slew of Debut Authors | Xpress Reviews

Coes’s series fans will want to get their hands on this new installment; Kennedy’s debut novel is perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lauren Groff, and Jojo Moyes; for fans of King’s Kate Martinelli series; Madrygin’s debut is powerful, eye-opening reading for everyone; a forthright study of a family seeking hope and finding something else; Tallent’s book is ultimately affirmative without the slightest sentimentality, and it’s remarkable; Williams has still crafted a complex and suspenseful tale

First Steps | Debut Novels

Summer fiction titles from first-timers bend the boundaries in this debut preview.

LJ Fiction Reviews: July 2017

With her mordant wit and clever storytelling, Culliton is a young novelist to watch; Moriarty is a gifted author of singular talent; Garrett’s Hollywood Homicide is sure to be a hit with readers seeking a fresh new sleuth; newcomer Klein delivers the next compelling sf technothriller, pleasing fans of Blake Crouch’s Dark Matter

Fiction from Connelly, Healy, Hearne, Koontz, Kuhn, Mallery, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

Put this one in your beach bag; fans will clamor for Connelly’s new protagonist, a female Bosch; Healy delivers a striking, heartbreaking story; this compact volume affirms the strength of Hearne’s urban fantasy series; this new (series!) heroine from Koontz is bound to be an immediate hit; urban fantasy fans seeking novels featuring diverse protagonists should snap up Kuhn’s works; for romance fans and admirers of fresh women’s fiction; debut novelist Maynard crafted a heartwarming coming-of-age story

Things Are Not Always As They Seem: Bone-Chilling Thrillers

A gripping page turner, a satisfying mystery, and psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat; readers who love suspense, horror, and nail-biting-action have come to the right place

Walking with the Greats: 19th-Century Literature

Thought-provoking stories, poetry and interactions with some literary greats; readers that are interested in 19th-century literature and poetry will find more than what they are looking for in these two books

Fighting for Freedom: Abolition Fiction

Two novels with gripping stories and rich historical detail; readers interested in historical fiction and nail-biting adventures will find either one of these books a fascinating read

#Ownvoices | Collection Development: Race, Diversity, & Society

The complexity, history, and nuances of race in America mean a wealth of material could be identified as essential. A recent explosion of titles plus classics document the multiplicity of the American experience.

Top Story Collections: A Quintet of Award-Winning Women Authors

It is difficult to single out a few stories in a collection as good as Hadley’s; Hall deserves a closer look for her beguiling collection; Hunt admirers will find much to love; Lively’s gifts have only ripened with age; if readers are meeting Simpson for the first time, these engaging selections are an excellent place to begin