Sister Fiction | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016

languageofsisters-jpgthumb

Kelly writes of heartwarming, character-driven siblings; the joy of Lamb’s intricate story is following her characters to a gloriously happy ending; Noel’s second book is emotionally charged, perfect for fans of Emily Liebert and Emily Giffin

Second Wives | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016

teaplanterTN

Jefferies’s atmospheric and suspenseful novel will enthrall fans of gothic romances; Rivers’s solid historical novel is a good choice for book clubs and will yield great discussions

New Discoveries: A Variety of Debuts | The Reader’s Shelf, September 1, 2016

welcome-jpg9716

Finding a debut author is a special delight for bibliophiles, regardless of their preferred reading matter: fiction, nonfiction, or specific genre. Here are six titles that would never be shelved together but do offer up the delightful promise of a new author.

Tie-In TV | Wyatt’s World

cuba.jpgthumb

Typically, media tie-ins come out several weeks, if not months, before an expected big-screen success—with splashy covers featuring the stars of the show. Fans of the small screen, however, often have to search the stacks to find a hook. Give them a hand by displaying TV-related works.

LJ Fiction Reviews: September 15, 2016

thenext.jpg9216

Put Ackerman on the A-list; Casey’s sophomore work is perfect for fans of women’s fiction; Weinstein’s Children of the New World encapsulate brave possible futures; Girard’s ode to a treasured relationship will appeal to adults and teens; Gigl’s debut fantasy brims with wit and thrills

Fiction from Alzamora, Bruen, Chiaverini, Coben, Thomas, and Debuter O’Shay | Xpress Reviews

fatestraitorsTN

A surprising novel travels to unexpected places quickly—but not too quickly; a delight for fans of the Bruen’s series; Chiaverini’s winning novel is difficult to put down; Coben says hello to Myron Bolitar; a debut about strong women; visit with the flawed folks of Thomas’s Ransom Canyon

Short Fiction for Fall: Key Collections from 18 Authors, Both Veteran and New

ofthisneworld.jpg82916

Barkan turns in a near-perfect debut collection; Bertin’s got a bristly imagination; Collins crosses racial, gender, and generational divides; Smith is original and always surprising; Pulitzer finalist Williams offers perfect little gems

World War II Secret Agents | RA Crossroads

oneman.jpgthumb

Gross’s tense and harrowing story portrays how one extraordinarily brave soldier attempts the unthinkable, producing nail-biting suspense, a mournful ode to those who endured the camps, and an exploration of what constitutes a civil and spiritual life.

Fiction from Doughty, Grose, and Jagears | Xpress Reviews

soulmatesTN

Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale; Grose’s latest is for yoga practitioners with a sense of humor and all who self-examine; evenhanded evangelical dialog will have readers wondering on which side of the moral issues they would land

Water Cooler RA 2.0 | Wyatt’s World

thenix.jpgthumb

Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad is dominating the book conversation this week (and likely beyond), yet also making headlines at the moment are a wealth of other titles pertaining to the current cultural climate. Here are five to suggest, all fitting nicely into the present dialog.