Domestic Affairs | Wyatt’s World

Tales of families never fail to fascinate. Whether a story of zany characters or of bonds unraveled, how mothers, fathers, and siblings navigate their unions is always rich reading. Here are four novels and one memoir that solidify these points.

Fiction from Cook and Stratton, with Well-Written Debuts from Avdic and Heacock | Xpress Reviews

Fans of mysteries set in confined environments will tear through this dark thriller debut; Cook’s latest disappoints; a delicious summer treat with just enough sass, sex, and edible glitter; a heartwarming contemporary romance, with a woman of color as the main character

Eve Chase Plumbs the Depths of Sisterly Bonds | LibraryReads Author

In Eve Chase’s sparkling new work, The Wildling Sisters, Jessie finds a glorious old house in the Cotswolds where she can raise her toddler daughter and troubled teenage stepdaughter with fresh abandon.

“Class Mom” Laurie Gelman Earns Top Honors | Debut Spotlight

Laurie Gelman has put her stamp on the world of women’s fiction with her debut novel, Class Mom, which revolves around the antics of kindergarten class mom Jen Dixon.

New and Known | Wyatt’s World

July brings an exciting mix of debut novels and key authors. From longtime favorites to new names to note, these books promise an engrossing month of entertainment. Here are five suggestions that will please a range of readers.

Lisa Ko’s Latest Novel Concerns Us All | LibraryReads Authors

Ko’s nuanced narrative communicates not just the burdens of the immigrant experience but the important lesson that one must learn—and sometimes fight—to be oneself.

Fiction from Davis, Gregory, Lange, Olsen, and Solwitz, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

About another New York City residential landmark; Gregory’s perspective on late Tudor England’s turbulent history will delight fans; Hughes has richly imagined the life of a remarkable historical figure; Lange knows how to reel in his audience with plenty of misdirection; for fans of women’s fiction about couples, families, genealogy, and genetics; great for indulging “the suspension of disbelief” with a unique setting; expect to be taken to the brink more than once—highly recommended

Best Sellers: Books Most Borrowed, June 2017

Baldacci is now a-Fix-ed at No. 1; if you’re not into Hillbilly, try Option B

Wonder Woman, Wonderfully Reinvented | RA Crossroads

Already shaping up to be a cultural touchstone, the new Wonder Woman film illustrates the deep draw of bravery and honor while exploring superhero action and the heroic journey of coming of age.

Fiction from Ben Coes and Laurie R. King and a Slew of Debut Authors | Xpress Reviews

Coes’s series fans will want to get their hands on this new installment; Kennedy’s debut novel is perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lauren Groff, and Jojo Moyes; for fans of King’s Kate Martinelli series; Madrygin’s debut is powerful, eye-opening reading for everyone; a forthright study of a family seeking hope and finding something else; Tallent’s book is ultimately affirmative without the slightest sentimentality, and it’s remarkable; Williams has still crafted a complex and suspenseful tale