Fiction from Manaster and Debuter Smith | Xpress Reviews

donethingtn

Manaster has written a deeply human and morally saturated novel, with captivating language; while debuter Smith’s protagonists are well drawn, it’s hard to care for a relationship that seems so disengaged

Resilient Rulers: From Victoria to Cixi to Catherine the Great | RA Crossroads

victoriathequeen-jpgthumb2

Welcome to Readers’ Advisory (RA) Crossroads, where books, movies, music, and other media converge and whole-collection RA service goes where it may. In this column, Queen Victoria leads me down a winding path.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 15, 2016

roadtoenchantment-jpgthumb2

Debuter Fabiaschi is a perfect choice for book clubs; an enthralling retelling of the women of Troy; recent Jewish fiction; a roundup of top indie picks; graphic novels for Black History Month; for fans of magic-based fantasy, Shinn blends a potent brew of politics and alchemy

Fiction from Church, Gracen, Hart, Higashino, March, Maxwell, Wallace, & Winterson | Xpress Reviews

christmasdaystn

An appealing and passionate love story from Grace; Hart delivers a suspenseful, gritty Ash McKenna book; Higashino has crafted an epic crime novel; a historical debut from Limburg; a Christmas tale from March; a sweetly unconventional Regency romance from Maxwell; a satisfactory debut from Moore; a holiday collection from Winterson

Fiction from Rice and Riggle, with a Debut from Rydahl | Xpress Reviews

vivianinredtn

“Vampire Chronicles” fandom will be clamoring for a peek at Rice’s latest tale, though it’s confusing at times; Riggle presents an entrancing novel of the Broadway theatrical world in its heyday; Rydahl’s debut unfolds one unexpected clue at a time and will keep readers guessing until the very end

Star-Studded Fiction from Burnet, Lamb, Le Guin, and Debuter Street | Xpress Reviews

illtakeyoutheretn

A fast-paced historical crime novel from Booker finalist Burnet; Lamb’s tender, funny, sweet homage to boomers; Le Guin is just as relevant and thought-provoking as ever; Pintoff’s high stakes novel will still appeal to thriller fans; Poe’s devoted readers will rejoice in Street’s debut literary novel

Spotlight on Paulette Jiles | LibraryReads Author, October 15, 2016

newsoftheworld-jpgthumb

In Paulette Jiles’s luminous new novel, Capt. Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels the rough roads of northern Texas after the Civil War reading newspapers to paying crowds. As Jiles explained in a phone interview with LJ, “He wanted to move people into the wonderful world of imagination we all need, which he brings to people under the guise of news.”

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles

holidays-jpgthumb

THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Globe-Spanning Adventures | Wyatt’s World

bygaslight-jpgthumb

October brings a number of particularly riveting crime novels—from legal to historical to quasi-true tales—that allow readers to travel the globe and back in time.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016

unblemished-jpgthumb

A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest