Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Fiction from Denfeld, Hamer, Hannah, Simmons, and Debuter Reed | Xpress Reviews

Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy the work of authors such as Jane Hamilton and M.L. Stedman; reminiscent enough of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter to continue reading; a rare miss from Hannah; its biggest strength is its evocative depiction of the Windy City; the perfect read for a day at the beach

Fiction from Ben-David, Coben, Handler, McBride, and Debuter Swann | Xpress Reviews

Ben-David knows Mossad to its core; longtime readers will be lining up for Coben’s new stand-alone; a surprisingly subtle exploration of sexual ethics; Realism with a touch of magical realism; a moving coming-of-age story with a noir twist; Alderman is not recommended

18th-Century Women | Fiction Reviews

Romance author Boyd’s first historical novel captivates on every level; Orange Prize winner Dunmore’s final novel (the author died in June) is a gripping psychological mystery set in a compellingly portrayed period of exhilaration and unrest

Celebrating Jane Austen | RA Crossroads

This year marks the 200th anniversary of Austen’s death on July 18, 1817. A proper celebration of the author’s life must begin with her iconic novels.

Fiction: Acevedo, Billingsley, Carlino, Holahan, MacNeal, Nash, Rushdie, Shamsie, Slaughter, Tuck | Xpress Reviews

This fascinating piece of history should appeal widely; Barber weaves a twisty tale that will grip readers; Billingsley has written another engrossing page-turner; Carlino writes a bittersweet, funny story; Holahan gets better with each novel; a nod to W.E.B. Dubois’s essay “The Talented Tenth”; for someone looking for a new historical mystery; an enjoyable tale of finding oneself and starting afresh; Rushdie should garner even more readers with this cautionary tale; debut author Wolas’s work is breathtaking

South African Thrillers from Meyer and Debuter Steyn

Tense, intriguing, and surprising, Meyer’s thriller is a solid choice for readers who enjoy well-researched and detailed survival stories; Steyn’s Cape Town will be familiar to any city dweller who no longer knows their neighbors and hides behind barred windows

Domestic Suspense from Ellison, Finn, Frances, and Rouda

Fans of Paula Hawkins, A.S.A. Harrison, Mary Kubica, and Karin ­Slaughter will want to add Ellison to their summer reading list; Finn’s riveting and mature first novel stands out in a crowded genre; despite its flaws, Frances’s debut novel will appeal to fans of fast-paced psychological thrillers; Rouda’s latest is destined to fly off the shelves

A Portrait of the Artist: Laurel Davis Huber’s “The Velveteen Daughter” | Debut Spotlight

Following an impulse to investigate an often enjoyed writer/illustrator from her childhood, Laurel Davis Huber embarked on a ten-year adventure that resulted in a captivating debut novel, The Velveteen Daughter, which traces the life of Pamela Bianco, a young artist growing up in early 20th-century America.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, August 2017

Brady’s riveting psychological debut chiller will wow thriller lovers; a must-read for DeMille’s many fans; Ribchester’s fascinating historical mystery is a sure bet for fans of Hitchcockian suspense; sexy, racy, and simmering with heart-pounding passion, Jordan’s latest romp is just plain fun; a Sip of Carr’s haunting first novel will leave readers hopeful for the future

Fiction from Baxter, Grafton, Sharp, Todd, Debuter Nugent, and a Mystery Anthology from Penzler | Xpress Reviews

Baxter’s second take on Wells is appropriate for young adult audiences; for book lovers, short story readers; enjoy Grafton’s California sleuthing sister; for fans of domestic suspense; series fans and Lee Child aficionados will appreciate Sharp’s latest; the new Todd title is flawed but still enjoyable for series fans