Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Fiction from Hurwitz, Rosenfeld, and Ryan, plus Debuts and Mermaids | Xpress Reviews

nowheremantn

Hurwitz excels at writing smart characters and plots; Luke is another compelling diversion from Ryan; Kamata’s coming-of-age story mixes bits of magical realism with the trials of growing up in the 1970s suburban Midwest

Fiction from Bohjalian, Meyer, Murray, and Debuter McCarthy | Xpress Reviews

sleepwalker-jpgthumb

Bohjalian’s latest will captivate readers who crave an edge-of-your-seat page-turner; mystery fans will be looking forward to the next Dr. Harry Kent novel; a fun read for those who enjoy the lighter side of spy fiction; Murray’s bold historical is wise and good enough

E-Originals from Barnard, March, and Sotto | Xpress Reviews

loveandgravity-3-jpg12116-jpgthumb2

Like the previous series installment, this sequel brings real heart to an exciting fantasy adventure; March’s breathtaking “Thistle Bend” series takes on a “green” bent; Sotto hits all the romantic high notes; highly recommended

All in Good Time | The Reader’s Shelf, November 15, 2016

patience-jpg112916

Just as Ursula K. Le Guin once said, authors help readers sail the river of time. The boarding pass for a story can take one deep into history, far into the future, or allow bibliophiles to bounce back and forth.

Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Winter Fiction in Translation: Top Fiction from Around the World

ties-jpgthumb

Strong if sometimes extended reading for sophisticated readers; fans of Latin American literature will surely want to consider Fuentes’s latest; lovers of both literary fiction and high-end sf can sink into Volodine’s absorbing tale

LJ Fiction Reviews: December 2016

lightofthegarden-jpgthumb

Most readers will enjoy Batuman’s lighthearted and wry debut; it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble; Oust blends just the right ingredients of humor, mystery, and action; it’s the flaws that make romance protagonists perfect Six Wakes delivers the ultimate locked-room mystery with top-notch sf worldbuilding;

Fiction from Banner, Connelly, Flagg, Koike, and Singh, plus an Icelandic Debut | Xpress Reviews

archangels-hearttn

This solid read will please both Connelly’s longtime fans; die-hard Flagg admirers will enjoy this latest title; Jonasson’s debut has transformed the locked-room myster; a translated work to please Asian horror fans; Singh’s latest series entry continues to set the bar high

Alice Hoffman | Spotlight LibraryReads Author, November 15, 2016

faithful-jpgthumb

“This novel comes from lots of different places,” explained Hoffman in a phone interview with LJ, “but one thing I was thinking about was mothers and daughters, and I was missing my own mother.”

Travel Through Jewish Fiction: Celebrate Jewish Book Month with These Titles and Read-Alikes

gameofqueens-jpgthumb

With this sampling of just-released 2016 and backlisted 2015 titles, there’s something for every reader to enjoy during Jewish Book Month.