For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Fiction from Rice and Riggle, with a Debut from Rydahl | Xpress Reviews


“Vampire Chronicles” fandom will be clamoring for a peek at Rice’s latest tale, though it’s confusing at times; Riggle presents an entrancing novel of the Broadway theatrical world in its heyday; Rydahl’s debut unfolds one unexpected clue at a time and will keep readers guessing until the very end

Star-Studded Fiction from Burnet, Lamb, Le Guin, and Debuter Street | Xpress Reviews


A fast-paced historical crime novel from Booker finalist Burnet; Lamb’s tender, funny, sweet homage to boomers; Le Guin is just as relevant and thought-provoking as ever; Pintoff’s high stakes novel will still appeal to thriller fans; Poe’s devoted readers will rejoice in Street’s debut literary novel

Spotlight on Paulette Jiles | LibraryReads Author, October 15, 2016


In Paulette Jiles’s luminous new novel, Capt. Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels the rough roads of northern Texas after the Civil War reading newspapers to paying crowds. As Jiles explained in a phone interview with LJ, “He wanted to move people into the wonderful world of imagination we all need, which he brings to people under the guise of news.”

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles


THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Globe-Spanning Adventures | Wyatt’s World


October brings a number of particularly riveting crime novels—from legal to historical to quasi-true tales—that allow readers to travel the globe and back in time.

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Fiction from Goodwin, Harris, and Ryan | Xpress Reviews


The PBS series slated to begin in January should bring heavy demand forVictoria; Harris offers insider details of life at the Vatican; Ryan does it again in her fifth Jane Ryland thriller, a fast-paced, edgy mystery

Fiction from a Debut Author of Inspirational Romance | Xpress Reviews


Taking place at the end of the 19th century, these parallel love stories are intertwined but unique, set against a harsh and sometimes dangerous life


Human Connections | Designing the Future


“At the intersection of dystopian fiction and magical realism,” Fagan’s standout second novel, The Sunlight Pilgrims, after her acclaimed debut, The Panopticon, projects a future extrapolated from pressures on the present. “Despite its forbidding setting, [this] remains a hopeful tale about human connections.”

Oh, the Horror! | The Reader’s Shelf, October 1, 2016


Here are just some of the debuts that horror fans can look to this ­Halloween season.