Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

1918 Stories | Fiction Reviews

A well balanced story of grief and hardship as a family navigates loss and moving forward; historical fiction and thriller come together with a seamless blend of fact and fiction in post-World War I New Orleans

Worldwide Pearls: Ten Top Titles for Winter Reading

Drawing on personal experience, Bodrožic´ is remarkably adept; Franzosini’s English-language debut is irresistible biographical fiction; for sophisticated readers and lovers of smart, spooky tales; multi-award winner Ørstavik offers an unsettling read that most will enjoy; a darkly propulsive nail-biter overlain with a vivid and piercing study of class tensions

Favorite Thrillers | Fiction Reviews

A must for fans of Steve Berry, written in a way you would almost believe it to be true; a carefully written thriller with great suspense and sensational detail.

LJ Talks to Mira T. Lee | Debut Spotlight

In Mira Lee’s first novel, Everything Here Is Beautiful, the author calls on characters from her short stories, filling out the lives of sisters Miranda and Lucia. Here, Lee discusses crafting these women, her own sibling experiences, and more.

Best Sellers: Books Most Borrowed, November 2017

Grafton pens the penultimate Y Is for Yesterday; What Happened nudges out Elegy

Historical Mysteries | Fiction Reviews

A well-rounded debut novel that’s reminiscent of Agatha Christie; a debut historical fiction novel filled with glamorous detail to be enjoyed by fans of historical fiction and mysteries.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, December 2017

Lovesay’s exceptional police procedural is packed with imperfect and engaging characters; trippy, nail-biting speculative fiction from Sweterlitsch; fans of Anderson’s first installment of this series will devour this book; D’Salete’s brutal and tragic tales lend context to the ongoing fight for individual liberties worldwide; another riveting read from the unparalleled Chase

Fiction from Ashe and Final Thoughts from Shepard | Xpress Reviews

While immediate truth-telling would have led our protagonists more directly to their happy ever after, this multilayered story would have been the poorer for it; what it was like to have lived in a great mind in its last moments—highly recommended

Fiction from Cassidy, Scotch, and Wright | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for sf fans who enjoy stories in which the protagonists fight against seemingly impossible odds; given Scotch’s popularity among chick lit readers, this title will be popular despite its shortcomings; recommended where gentle romances have pride of place