Books

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Short Stories Collections | Wyatt’s World

martinishot012315

Gaiman gets under the skin with Trigger Warning; Heiny garners praise for Single, Carefree, Mellow; Link returns with Get in Trouble; debut collections from Pelecanos, Pierce.

E-Originals from Banks, Harper, Robson, & West | Xpress Reviews

onceloved012315

A new paranormal cliff-hanger from Daisy Banks, a follow-up to Harper’s Secrets and Ink, Robson’s family drama tugs at the heartstrings, West’s new adult tale isn’t especially compelling

Nonfiction on Walter Noble Burns, Lincoln, Classical Music, Mexico, China, Buddhism | Xpress Reviews

americanmythmaker012315

Wild West history, more Lincoln scholarship, a demystification of classical music, a memoir of moving to Mexico, China’s plans with regard to global domination, and a well-organized collection on Buddhism, with a noble cast of characters

Fiction from Lawson, O’Reilly, Rhoades, and Robb, plus a U.S. Debut | Xpress Reviews

killing season012315

Cross makes his U.S. debut with a harrowing thriller, a riveting historical mystery from Lawson, a disappointment from O’Reilly, Rhoades’s Keller is a fun character to root for, and Robb’s latest “In Death” title is highly recommended

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Fightin’ Words | African American Fiction (And More!)

favoriteson

Urban fiction tales continue to be flush with serious insults that put rivals in their place. This month’s selections feature characters dispensing verbal beat downs with razor sharp tongues.

Audiobooks from Ebrahim, Huneven, Koontz, Lang, O’Neal, & Raybourn | Xpress Reviews

sixteenth012315

An emotional memoir, the compelling nature of obsessive love, a disconcerting mood and spooky atmosphere from Koontz, a family seeking connection, a sweet story without much substance, a romantic thriller set between the wars

Geography, January 2015 | Best Sellers

April 2014 to date as identified by YBP Library Services

Laughing at Life | Memoir

All the Wrong Places

The authors of this month’s memoirs are preoccupied with coming to terms with the impact others, especially family members, have on us. But there’s a lot of humor here too.

Detecting, Dancing, Dying | What We’re Reading

World Gone By

The LJ/School Library Journal staffers like their reading dark and doggy this week, with a large dose of long-form journalism to supplement the books.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin