Books

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Read Along with Lonely Planet’s Best Travel in 2015 | Xpress Reviews

lonelyplanet102414

Not a book to pack, Lonely Planet’s Best Travel 2015 might help readers choose a destination

Audiobooks from Chase, Finder, Hubbard, and McEwen & Koloniar| Xpress Reviews

suspicion102414

A dressmaker finds love, a suspenseful thriller for all collections, a solid Hubbard for lovers of war stories, a work for those who enjoy military thrillers

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

dragonsbreath102414

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

Fiction from Dunn, Hazelgrove, Horowitz, Maxwell, Pérez-Reverte, & St. Aubyn | Xpress Reviews

moriarty102414

Hazelgrove presents a happy Christmas story, Horowitz skillfully executes a literary thriller, Maxwell beautifully ends her Wishmore trilogy, Pérez-Reverte offers a city under siege, St. Aubyn artfully explores possibilities

E-Originals from Alexander, Allen, Loveless, Macnamara, & Robson | Xpress Reviews

dualityprinciple102414

A feel-good holiday romance, a good girl wants to be bad, a gay action star faces a midlife crisis, a sexually charge romance for historical fans, a dizzying array of paranormal characters for series fans

Toil and Trouble: Spooky Halloween Reads | The Reader’s Shelf

amity102214

It’s time to get ready for the hordes of patrons who will begin to haunt the library and are in the mood for a good scare; this list of titles will help librarians arm themselves with some bloody-good suggestions.

Best Books 2014: Romance

KristinRamsdell2014

Library Journal‘s Romance reviewer Kristin Ramsdell puts the Top Ten Best Romance of 2014 in perspective

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2014

An untamed state

The best books of the year, as chosen by LJ’s review editors, in the case of the top ten and the best of the rest, and by our reviewers and columnists, in the case of genre fiction and nonfiction. A fully annotated version of these lists will appear in upcoming LJReviews enewsletters and in the December issue of LJ.

Penguins and Back Pain and Military Dogs Oh My! | Science & Technology Reviews

penguins102114

Of the many books on perennially popular penguins, this is far and away the best; an invaluable work to those facing the onset of back pain and the dizzying range of treatment choices; proof of the intensity of the human-animal bond.

Best Sellers: Books Most Borrowed, October 2014

The Heist steals the top spot from The Goldfinch; Unbroken breaks back into No. 1.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin