LJ Nonfiction | Review Alert, September 1, 2017

A journey well worth taking, Hirschfeld‘s world traverses Moscow, Paris, and Hollywood; entertaining and exhilarating, Schlesinger will appeal mostly to historians but also be enjoyed by popular history readers; six titles to aid in the fight against breast cancer; Soonish technology that is decidedly nonacademic in the best way

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, September 1, 2017

A tension-filled tour de force of suspense and human emotions from debuter Nelson; Snow’s action-packed, erotic series concludes with a scintillating Rule Changer; Remender and Murphy turn in one of the most fully realized graphic works of the last decade; Nobel Laureate Modiano, Latin American sensation Gamboa, best-selling Israeli author Nevo, and more; Massey’s fans and historical fiction lovers will enjoy this original outing

Fiction from Clark, Montana Noir, Witt & Z, plus Debuts | Xpress Reviews

In her debut novel, Burns slowly uncovers an unsettling and grim world; Clark nimbly handles the warp and weft of her interwoven characters; reimagining Little Women; fans of noir and regional fiction will be intrigued; a beautiful, angst-filled, and heart-wrenching debut; Witt and Z pack suspense, action, and family ties into this series installment

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow

E-Originals from Cangany, Morgan, Qualls, and Debuter Rhone | Xpress Reviews

Best for public libraries with patrons having a strong interest in IndyCar; fespite the fantasist aspects, this novel covers familiar ground; Qualls provides a sweet romance with some spice while tackling issues such as coming out as an adult and religious acceptance or denial of LGBTQ lifestyles; recommended for romance lovers who like a little humor and a lot of intrigue

Audiobooks by Attenberg, Dorries, Foster, Fujimura, Healey, Judson, Lescroart, McKinlay, & Patterson | Xpress Reviews

A disappointing effort from Attenberg; flat characters from Foster; Fujimura’s account is for large collections where interest warrants; Healey is for historical fiction and women’s fiction fans; the operation of the Habsburg Empire; Lescroart’s latest: a very good work by an accomplished author; an appealing series entry for cozy fans—cupcakes not included

Music & Art, August 2017 | Best Sellers

November 2016 to date as identified by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO

Nonfiction: Golf & African Americans, Allergy-Free Cooking, Pro Wrestling, Marriage Counseling | Xpress Reviews

An unsettling but solid perspective on America and golf; for public libraries seeking diet and health-related cookbooks; the Flairs will please their base with accounts of action in and out of the ring; beneficial as part of a professional collection for counselors and others

Fiction from Denfeld, Hamer, Hannah, Simmons, and Debuter Reed | Xpress Reviews

Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy the work of authors such as Jane Hamilton and M.L. Stedman; reminiscent enough of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter to continue reading; a rare miss from Hannah; its biggest strength is its evocative depiction of the Windy City; the perfect read for a day at the beach

Graphic Novels from Claveloux, Miller & Co., and Scott & Others | Xpress Reviews

This explicitly adult pop-art fantasia delivers emotional insight and imaginative visuals; Miller and company have brought their best work; this will still certainly satisfy those who want more of the short-lived Ninth Doctor