Johansen’s Pick of the Month, Bonesteel, Cain, Itäranta, Liu, Hugo Awards & New Series Lineup | SF/Fantasy Reviews, October 15, 2016


ANOTHER HALLOWEEN season is upon us, and this October brings several frightful treats, including L.X. Cain’s Bloodwalker, S.L. Grey’s The Apartment, and the new anthology Nightmares, edited by Ellen Datlow.

Best Memoir: Our Favorites of 2016, Part 2


A feel-good nonfiction beach read for the athletic and nonathletic alike; essential reading for all parents; beautifully told, Ghost Songs is likely to stay with readers for a long time; Tynan presents universal insight and wit

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles


THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Career Resources | Reference eReviews, October 15, 2016


While working on this column, the unemployment rate has dipped below five percent for the first time since the beginning of 2008, yet the sense of urgency is still palpable.

Audiobooks, October 2016 | Best Sellers


From The Last Mile and Fool Me Once to Family Jewels and Here’s to Us

LJ Reference Reviews: November 1, 2016


Readers considering having a baby will find Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn a valuable resource; a quality reference that condenses a monumental amount of information; AtoZdatabases offers a quick and convenient way to search a vast number of records in one place

LJ Nonfiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


As always, the annual Pushcart Prize XLI is highly recommended; Kelly creates a world that is deeply felt; a revealing look at professional wrestler Rowdy; a solid offering for the tech-education collection; Anishinaabe activist Bellecourt’s riveting autobiography; an important study that teaches to decipher science and medical news

LJ Media Reviews: November 1, 2016


Ephron’s dazzling story reaches from London to Sicily; a great listen for Kennedy fans; this astounding menagerie of restored giallo captures much of the breadth and depth of the style; Wellman’s Ox-Bow Incident presents a morality tale in the guise

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Nonfiction on Canine Companions, Author Editing, and Guy Clark | Xpress Reviews


This lightweight coffee-table book will elicit broad smiles from dog lovers and photography fans; for author’s editors and possibly scholarly communications librarians; a well-informed, in-depth look at Guy Clark’s life and career