A Year in Books | The Reader’s Shelf, December 2016

christodora-jpgthumb

In keeping with this column’s end-of-the-year tradition of highlighting favorite titles, a number of readers’ advisors have surveyed their bookshelves and pulled novels they have deeply enjoyed.

Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Topping the Charts | Arts & Humanities Reviews, December 2016

nonrequiredreading-jpgthumb

If one were to buy only one book of Best American Essays, this might be it; this exceptional collection shines for the quality of the selections and the insight of the students of the nonprofit 826 National

Hearing About Haunting | Audiobook Reviews, December 2016

americanmurderhouses-jpgthumb

Jon Lindstrom’s narration is serviceable enough, but patrons may be better advised to stick to the page; Lehto’s book will probably not satisfy true crime devotees but would be an adequate listen for those new to the topic

Oh, the Horror! | Arts & Humanities Reviews, December 2016

somethingintheblood-jpgthumb

Skal’s exploration of Stoker’s most famous work is for serious students of horror literature and ­Victorian ­culture; thoroughly documented, Powers of Darkness is recommended for Dracula scholars

Concept Artists, Children’s Crafts, Woodturning, Farmhouse Charm | Crafts & DIY Reviews, December 2016

farmhouse-charm-final

A straightforward and inspirational guide to rustic DIY; a vital and detailed workbook for advanced woodworkers; colorful projects that will provide hours of innovative entertainment for children and their caregivers

Best Sellers: Books Most Borrowed, November 2016

The “girls” have it: on the Train; with the Lower Back Tattoo

LJ Media Reviews: December 2016

whathappenedmisssimone-jpg111716

Alice Hoffman is Faithful to a girl devastated by the harm she caused her dearest friend; a Palestinian man renews his love of music by becoming The Idol

LJ Fiction Reviews: December 2016

lightofthegarden-jpgthumb

Most readers will enjoy Batuman’s lighthearted and wry debut; it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble; Oust blends just the right ingredients of humor, mystery, and action; it’s the flaws that make romance protagonists perfect Six Wakes delivers the ultimate locked-room mystery with top-notch sf worldbuilding;

LJ Reference Reviews: December 2016

whitewashing-jpgthumb

This important work helps to develop community engagement in the field of ethnic studies; a multifaceted look at specters and their stories; a solid resource for African American Folklore; libraries serving serious film researchers will be interested in Alexander Street’s Criterion Collection