Featured Posts

Some Things Change, Others… | What We’re Reading

A busy week and unrelenting winter weather drove most of the WWR gang far, far underground—we hope … [Continue Reading]

Guns, Germs, and Stee

Top Indie Fiction: 13 Key Spring Titles Beyond the Best Sellers List

Abdou, Angie. Between. Arsenal Pulp. Apr. 2015. 256p. ISBN 9781551525686. pap. $18.95; ebk. ISBN … [Continue Reading]

binarystar3215

Materials Breakout | Materials Survey 2015

Here’s the good news: respondents to LJ’s annual materials survey of U.S. public libraries … [Continue Reading]

ljx150202webHoffert2

March Madness and Beyond: Basketball Diaries

Ellsworth, Scott. The Secret Game: A Basketball Story in Black and White. Little, Brown. Mar. … [Continue Reading]

yearofthedunk3215

Short Fiction Is Cool Again: Tor.com Announces Inaugural Novella List

The novella has long been traditional publishing's stepchild, often packaged into a collection of an … [Continue Reading]

mast_logo

LibraryReads: Librarians Announce March Favorites

Some familiar authors have made this months Library Reads, the list of what librarians are loving … [Continue Reading]

The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy

More From LJ Reviews

scally

Early Summer Catch-Up: Annie Barrows’s The Truth According to Us

Every season, some titles pass me by, usually because they are dropped into the schedule too late for me to feature in a given month. Publishing in June, Annie Barrows’s The Truth According to Us (Dial. 512p. ISBN 9780385342940. $28; ebk. ISBN 9780812997842) is one title I don’t want you to miss. Fans of the […]

51gIS7giE-L

Ilsa J. Bick, Sarah J. Maas, & Chuck Wendig | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Young Adult

Albertalli, Becky. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Blackstone. ISBN 9781504615129. Reader TBA. Gr 9 & Up—In this debut novel, an email falls into the wrong hands, and 16-year-old Simon Spier’s secret—he’s gay— is at risk of being exposed. Now change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s […]

Photo by Michael Lionstar

Spotlight on Anne Tyler | LibraryReads Author, February 15, 2015

Pulitzer Prize winner Tyler talks about her new novel, A Spool of Blue Thread, and her “continuing interest in…those cobbled-­together households that you see sometimes, getting along just as happily as many biological families.”

Botany & Zoology, March 2015 | Best Sellers

May 2014 to date as identified by YBP Library Services

Latest Posts

darkest hour030615

Audiobooks from Couch, Haddam, Larimore, & Debut Author Schumacher | Xpress Reviews

A double dose of Couch, one with Galdorisi, for action aficionados; Haddam writes for fans of Philadelphia; Larimore’s title is a poignant window to Eastern frontier life; Schumacher shows a real talent and seems to have a very bright future

fadeout030615

Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews

Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

anarchyandbeauty030615

Nonfiction on Puffins, William Morris, Women of Science, Math, and Marie Curie | Xpress Reviews

Rescuing the endangered puffin, a fascinating, somewhat scholarly examination of William Morris, introducing headstrong women of science to a wider audience, a fresh take on Marie Curie

greenonblue030615

Fiction from Ashford, Goldreich, Hannaham, Herron, and Ryan, plus Three Debuts | Xpress Reviews

An illuminating debut from Ackerman, an absorbing romance from Ashford, historical fiction from Goldreich, an eye-opening standout from Hannaham, domestic fiction from Herron, art out of tragedy from Léger, a wild ride from Ryan

playingknotty030615

E-Originals from Michaels and Winters, with Debuts from Blake and Locke | Xpress Reviews

Blake’s debut is endearing and more than a little hot; Locke’s debut features an edgy plot; Michaels’s series conclusion might confuse new readers; Winters’s book is a rare mix of heartwarming romance and incredible sexual awakening

More Latest Posts

CONNECTING INDIE AUTHORS, LIBRARIES AND READERS





SELF-e is an innovative collaboration between Library Journal and BiblioBoard® that enables authors and libraries to work together and expose notable self-published ebooks to voracious readers looking to discover something new. Finally, a simple and effective way to catalog and provide access to ebooks by local authors and build a community around indie writing! LEARN MORE

Collection Development

Why It’s Greater To Love and To Lose | Memoir

I swear, dear readers, that I did not read all of these books about love on purpose. My guess is the love books come out around February, when everyone is feeling in that candy-heart kind of mood. While I would argue that love can be a many-splendored thing all year long, you won’t find me […]

From Dealin’ to Wildin’ Out | African American Fiction (and More)

Urban fiction from drug dealing to wild and ruthless Memphis gangs. Plus a steamy erotic tale that leaves nothing uncovered.

Baby’s First Year, Nanny Whisperer Gold, Amish Wisdom, Raising Brave Girls, & More | Parenting Reviews, February 15, 2015

Arnold’s thoughtful worldview approach is inspiring, DK celebrates the loveliness of babies, Gold presents an excellent resource for families looking to hire a nanny, Miller looks at the parenting culture of the Amish community.

Road to Elsewhere | Classic Returns

Classic Returns travels from ancient Greece to postwar Hungary and points in between this month.

Fightin’ Words | African American Fiction (And More!)

Urban fiction tales continue to be flush with serious insults that put rivals in their place. This month’s selections feature characters dispensing verbal beat downs with razor sharp tongues.

More from Collection Development

Readers’ Advisory

After Larson’s Dead Wake | RA Crossroads

On May 7, 1915, one of the largest passenger ships ever built, the Lusitania, while traveling from New York to Liverpool, fell prey to a German U-boat off the coast of Ireland that sank it with a single torpedo shot.

Hoping for Spring Gardens: Inspiration, Reference, and Guidance | Wyatt’s World

In spite of the snow blanketing much of the country, gardens are getting ready to bloom. Here are five books to raise the spirits and prepare readers for the abundance to come.

Suggestions for February, African American History Month | Wyatt’s World

Learn, honor, and remember: read the Selected Letters of Langston Hughes, Lewis’s March, the Randalls’ new cookbook, White House correspondent Ryans’s memoir, and debut novelist Solomon’s Disgruntled.

The Spy Who Loved Me: Romance and Espionage | The Reader’s Shelf, February 15, 2015

Featuring women who can disarm men with a weapon just as easily as with their charm, these spy romances are sure to satisfy.

Ruined Worlds: Five New Postapocalyptic Novels | Wyatt’s World

The Only Ones prove to be apocalpytic-proof, Haig begins a new trilogy, strong worldbuilding and characterization from Newman, Repino’s debut battle tale, surreal adventures from first novelist van den Berg.

More from Readers' Advisory

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin