Featured Posts

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2014

Below are the best books of the year, as chosen by LJ's review editors, in the case of the top ten … [Continue Reading]

An untamed state

That’s So Nineties | Memoir

The Nineties were a strange decade. People walked around with giant cell phones, baggy jeans, and … [Continue Reading]

The Call of the Farm

Personal Bests | What We’re Reading

This week, LJ editors take a break after choosing the best books of 2014, while our colleagues at … [Continue Reading]

Truth Be Told

Don’t Trust These Ladies | African American Fiction (And More!)

This month’s female characters toy with men's emotions, lie to them, steal their money, cheat on … [Continue Reading]

crookedgs

LibraryReads: Librarians Announce November Favorites

David Nicholls's Us met my subway test, meaning it's a book that I had to stop reading on the subway … [Continue Reading]

us

New York Comic Con: Highlights and Surprises

It has been reported that 151,000 people attended New York Comic Con this past weekend, causing the … [Continue Reading]

americanbornchinese101414

More From LJ Reviews

bigreadimage

Edwidge Danticat’s Brother, I’m Dying: Another Big Read Opportunity for Libraries

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) has expanded its Big Read library with the addition of its first nonfiction selection, Edwidge Danticat’s Brother, I’m Dying, a National Book Critics Circle Award winner and National Book Award finalist published in 2007. In this family memoir, Danticat recounts being raised by her uncle Joseph in Haiti […]

leckie

Snowden, the Maker Movement, and Award-winning SF | December Audio in Advance | Stephanie’s Picks

Audio in Advance offers previews of selected audiobooks two months ahead of publication, along with recommended picks and occasional interviews with notable authors and narrators. Baker, Jo. Offcomer. Dreamscape Media. Read by Nicola Barber. Longbourn author Baker sets her latest against the backdrop of the Troubles in Northern Ireland. Claire is a recent Oxford graduate […]

caitlindoughty100314

Caitlin Doughty | LibraryReads Author

Q&A with September LibraryReads top vote getter Caitlin Doughty

Latin American History, October 2014 | Best Sellers

January 2014 to date as identified by YBP Library Services

Latest Posts

nightshift102414

Horror Short Stories | Wyatt’s World

Readers might need to consider short stories to fit in some frights before the season passes them by; here are five collections that should please fans and intrigue those dipping into the horror genre for the first time.

lonelyplanet102414

Read Along with Lonely Planet’s Best Travel in 2015 | Xpress Reviews

Not a book to pack, Lonely Planet’s Best Travel 2015 might help readers choose a destination

suspicion102414

Audiobooks from Chase, Finder, Hubbard, and McEwen & Koloniar| Xpress Reviews

A dressmaker finds love, a suspenseful thriller for all collections, a solid Hubbard for lovers of war stories, a work for those who enjoy military thrillers

dragonsbreath102414

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

moriarty102414

Fiction from Dunn, Hazelgrove, Horowitz, Maxwell, Pérez-Reverte, & St. Aubyn | Xpress Reviews

Hazelgrove presents a happy Christmas story, Horowitz skillfully executes a literary thriller, Maxwell beautifully ends her Wishmore trilogy, Pérez-Reverte offers a city under siege, St. Aubyn artfully explores possibilities

More Latest Posts

Collection Development

That’s So Nineties | Memoir

Remember the good times in these Nineties-themed memoirs.

Don’t Trust These Ladies | African American Fiction (And More!)

October’s lead female characters toy with men’s emotions, lie to them, steal their money, cheat on them, and even physically torture them. In particula, the authentic out-of-control take on a woman’s gambling addiction makes S.K. Collins’s Crooked G’s the pick of the month

What’s New from Our Neighbors | Collection Development: Latin American Fiction

Literature in Latin America since the boom of the 1960s and 1970s hasn’t slackened in production of quality works or diversity of themes. These 29 titles will add flavor to all collections.

Thanks for the Memories | Memoir

September memoir reviews cover dog stories, tales of illnesses and triumph, marriage and remarriage recountings, and a reckoning with forgiveness.

Sequels and Insults | African American Fiction (And More!)

The selections this month are all sequels or companion novels to previous works. Often series’ bridge novels can be dry as dust, but wicked descriptions and insults from Brenda Hampton’s The Reunion Show have characters rolling their eyes in anger.

More from Collection Development

Readers’ Advisory

Horror Short Stories | Wyatt’s World

Readers might need to consider short stories to fit in some frights before the season passes them by; here are five collections that should please fans and intrigue those dipping into the horror genre for the first time.

Toil and Trouble: Spooky Halloween Reads | The Reader’s Shelf

It’s time to get ready for the hordes of patrons who will begin to haunt the library and are in the mood for a good scare; this list of titles will help librarians arm themselves with some bloody-good suggestions.

Vintage Finds | Wyatt’s World

The allure of decades-old fashion and design is still going strong; here are five titles to consider adding to your collection.

Selecting a Camel: A How-To | Books for Dudes

Somewhere between Heinrich Böll’s Murke’s Collected Silences and Rachel Ingalls’ Mrs. Caliban I realized how much readers bring of themselves into what they read. How can an author be sure that their work will be interpreted the way they intended? I thought more, realizing about midway through John Updike’s Rabbit Angstrom novels that, of course, […]

Short on Pages, Long on Pleasure | Wyatt’s World

Atwood’s tales of imagination, biting wit, and power; the heady, fantastic, and fantastical Calvino; a feast of the “Best American” short stories; Munro is a sure bet; and Rash’s talents include gems of atmosphere and description.

More from Readers' Advisory

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin