Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff | LJ Review

Wolff, Michael. Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House. Holt. Jan. 2018. 336p. index. ISBN 9781250158062. $30; ebk ISBN 9781250158079. POL SCI
Journalist Wolff’s (Burn Rate) controversial Trump White House tell-all is a ground-shaking exposé on the dysfunction, disorganization, and Machiavellian ambitions of various, often opposing, factions at the highest levels of the administration during its first year. As Wolff tells it, the aim of the book is not so much a deep dive into Donald Trump himself, though his portrait of an imperious and ill-informed man-baby comes across with clarity. Instead, it is an attempt to portray those closest to the 45th president, their unvarnished impressions of him, and, most interestingly, their machinations to influence and manipulate Trump into supporting their own political agendas. According to Wolff, the three major camps at war during Trump’s first year in office included Steve Bannon and his allies, representing the “alt-right,” national-populist movement that saved a failing campaign and put Trump into office; the Republican establishment, represented by Reince Priebus in his former role as chief of staff; and “Jarvanka,” including the president’s son-in-law Jared Kushner, daughter Ivanka, and others characterized as “Wall Street Democrats.” Unfortunately, there are numerous copy editing and factual errors, including misspelled names, misidentified job titles, and erroneous dates cited. Wolff’s style, however, akin to some of the most readable long-form political commentary, is eminently enjoyable. As former White House press secretary Sean Spicer was allegedly known to quip, “You can’t make this shit up.” VERDICT Overall, Wolff’s narrative offers a startling view of a chaotic West Wing besieged by competing sycophants, would-be kingmakers, and befuddled Washington insiders. Essential reading for political junkies and a compelling title for fans of House of Cards and Henry VIII dramas.—Kiera Parrott, School Library Journal & Library Journal

Share
Kiera Parrott About Kiera Parrott

Kiera Parrott the reviews director for School Library Journal and Library Journal and a former children's librarian. Her favorite books are ones that make her cry—or snort—on public transportation.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  4. Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media, per our Terms of Use.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*