Ebullient Vegetables, DIY Recipes, Clean Foods| Cooking Reviews, February 15, 2017

Diamond, Lily. Kale & Caramel: Recipes for Body, Heart, and Table. Atria. May 2017. 272p. photos. index. ISBN 9781501123399. $22; ebk. ISBN 9781501123412. COOKING

kale & caramelWriter and photographer Diamond has adapted her popular blog Kale & Caramel (kaleandcaramel.com) into an emotional first cookbook that touts the healing powers of herbs, flowers, and other aromatics. Ingredient-focused chapters (e.g., basil, fennel, jasmine, orange blossom) are filled with recipes for foods and body-care products (e.g., facial cleansers and masks, body scrubs). Featuring compelling flavors, dishes such as kabocha coconut fritters with pomegranate mint raita, sage-salted caramel ice cream, and jasmine cucumber water will appeal to cooks interested in holistic lifestyle advice. VERDICT Diamond’s unusual debut offers a fresh perspective on eating and self-care. Her sensuous prose may strike some readers as oversentimental, so buy for demand.

Food52 Ice Cream and Friends: 60 Recipes and Riffs for Sorbets, Sandwiches, No-Churn Ice Creams, and More. Ten Speed: Crown. Apr. 2017. 176p. ed. by Food52 Eds. photos. index. ISBN 9780399578021. $22.99; ebk. ISBN 9780399578038. COOKING

food52This survey of frozen desserts from the editors of Food52.com brims with ice creams, sorbets, semifreddos, popsicles, snow cones, and other delights. Impressive in its variety, the book blends all-new and reader-contributed recipes, including: saltine cracker-brownie ice cream sandwich, lemongrass chile ginger ice cream, and cherry sorbet with lemon-thyme soda. These and other combinations are adaptable to many home kitchens, including those without an ice cream maker. Homemade toppings (e.g., sprinkles, magic shell, sugar cones) feature prominently as well. VERDICT No matter your taste or dietary preferences, you’ll be tempted by this delectable collection.

Hart, Alice. Good Veg: Ebullient Vegetables, Global Flavors—A Modern Vegetarian Cookbook. Experiment. Apr. 2017. 336p. photos. index. ISBN 9781615192861. $24.95; ebk. ISBN 9781615192878. COOKING

good vegWhether you’re in search of a quick breakfast, a midweek meal, or a showstopper for a special occasion, you’ll find a recipe to suit within this contemporary vegetarian cookbook. UK-based food writer and author Hart (Friends at My Table) presents satisfying dishes for everyday cooking, including spiced buckwheat waffles with mango, roasted broccoli tart with a cauliflower crust, farro and squash kofta in a roasted tomato sauce, and vegan chocolate mousse with walnut-sesame brittle. She covers a wide range of global flavors and emphasizes fresh produce more than meat substitutes. Included are raw, sprouted, and fermented preparations, as well as options for vegan, low-sugar, and gluten-free diets. VERDICT Delving further into the whole-foods pantry than Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s River Cottage Veg, Hart’s new collection is a great choice for readers seeking vegetarian recipes beyond the ordinary.

Mason, Taymer. Caribbean Vegan: Meat-Free, Egg-Free, Dairy-Free, Authentic Island Cuisine for Every Occasion. 2d ed. Experiment. Nov. 2016. 320p. photos. index. ISBN 9781615193608. $24.95; ebk. ISBN 9781615193615. COOKING

caribbean veganIt’s worth replacing old copies of author Mason’s first cookbook with this expanded second edition, which benefits from attractive full-color photographs and 75 original recipes. Mason invites home cooks to sample a rich array of dishes, from callaloo fritters to breadfruit ravioli with calabaza squash filling to guava bread pudding with coconut rum sauce. She also instructs them in traditional cooking techniques, such as making homemade, nonwheat flours (split pea, quinoa, sweet potato, cassava, and more), cracking and grating fresh coconuts, and toasting and blending spices. VERDICT It can take some effort to source this book’s ingredients and to preprepare its spice blends and sauces, but the results are worth it. A standout vegan title with unique flair. Highly recommended.

Prueitt, Elisabeth. Tartine All Day: Modern Recipes for the Home Cook. Ten Speed: Crown. Apr. 2017. 384p. photos. index. ISBN 9780399578823. $40; ebk. ISBN 9780399578830. COOKING

tartine all dayPrueitt (coauthor, Tartine) and her husband, Chad Robertson, are the James Beard Award–winning chefs behind San Francisco’s Tartine Bakery and Tartine Manufactory. The newest addition to Prueitt’s cookbook oeuvre reflects her evolving household cooking. Prueitt shares nononsense recipes—applesauce, whole-loaf cheesy garlic bread, fried chicken, and flan, for example—with the goal of getting home cooks and busy parents through the week. Although uncomplicated, her recipes are full of surprising ingredients and techniques gleaned from decades of professional experience. Anyone who cooks through this book will come away with new favorite recipes and a deeper understanding of nonwheat flours. VERDICT Highly recommended, especially for readers who enjoyed Melissa Hamilton and Christopher Hirsheimer’s Canal House Cooks Every Day and Alice Medrich’s Flavor Flours.

redstarRobertson, Robin. Veganize It! Easy DIY Recipes for a Plant-Based Kitchen. Houghton Harcourt. Mar. 2017. 304p. photos. index. ISBN 9780544815568. $25; ebk. ISBN 9780544815575. COOKING

veganize itStore-bought meat and dairy substitutes can be expensive and highly processed. With an eye toward economy, vegan cooking authority Robertson (Fresh from the Vegan Slow Cooker) demonstrates how many of these products—including cashew cream cheese, tofu ricotta, mushroom bacon, whipped coconut cream, and more—can be easily made at home. Her smart and flavorful staples are building-block ingredients for more than 150 recipes (e.g., handcrafted lasagna, cassoulet, buffalo cauliflower with ranch dressing, and lemon meringue pie). ­VERDICT Robertson’s vegan alternatives to popular foods will draw even nonvegans. She touches on all the latest trends, such as aquafaba (bean liquid), and explores topics rarely covered by similar titles, including vegan charcuterie and seafood.

Santos, Chris with Rick Rodgers. Share: Delicious and Surprising Recipes To Pass Around Your Table. Grand Central. Feb. 2017. 304p. photos. index. ISBN 9781455538430. $40; ebk. ISBN 9781455538423. COOKING

shareSantos is a judge on Food Network’s Chopped and the founder of New York restaurants Beauty & Essex, the Stanton Social, and Vandal. Writing with veteran author Rodgers (Kaffeehaus), Santos debuts bold recipes that can be mixed and matched for family-style dining. Cooks who love to entertain and throw parties can craft memorable communal meals from such dishes as crab corn dogs with Old Bay aioli, tuna sushi satays with jicama-peanut slaw, pasta with spicy veal and lamb bolognese, and red velvet Twinkies with crème fraîche filling. Indulgent, playful starters are the star of this cookbook, which also covers cocktails, brunches, sides, mains, and more. VERDICT A great source for surprising crowd-pleasers. Think French onion soup reimagined as soup dumplings.

Talbot, Sam. 100% Real: 100 Insanely Good Recipes for Clean Food Made Fresh. Oxmoor House. Apr. 2017. 256p. photos. index. ISBN 9780848746766. $29.99; ebk. ISBN 9780848753436. COOKING

100Talbot (The Sweet Life: Diabetes Without Boundaries) is best known for his appearance on the second season of Bravo’s Top Chef. Here, he outlines an approach to clean eating that’s built upon “100% real” foods, a loosely defined concept emphasizing meals created at home with minimally processed ingredients. Talbot’s healthy eating guidelines and pantry stocking tips are easy to remember and more mainstream than those in most diet cookbooks. His recipes, however, can call for somewhat less conventional superfoods (e.g., maca powder and spirulina), which may deter some cooks. Dishes include breakfasts, smoothies, snacks, mains, grain bowls, desserts, and more. Many are gluten-, sugar-, and dairy-free. ­VERDICT Recommended for the adventurous cook who wants to try healthy eating without being “a judgemental jerk.”

redstarWells, Patricia. My Master Recipes: 165 Recipes To Inspire Confidence in the Kitchen *With Dozens of Variations.* Morrow. Mar. 2017. 496p. photos. index. ISBN 9780062424822. $35; ebk. ISBN 9780062684059. COOKING

my master recipesImagine you’re in France with a marvelous teacher, learning to turn artichokes, simmer soups, and poach perfect eggs. Renowned author and cooking instructor Wells (Bistro Cooking) calmly guides readers through essential techniques (e.g., blanching, steaming, braising) and offers illustrative “master recipes” to learn and reinterpret. Simple, seasonal dishes such as steamed cod with rosemary and seaweed butter, seared beef rib-eye steak with mint chimichurri, and individual rose and raspberry pavlovas will send gourmands to the kitchen for leisurely cooking. Don’t expect shortcuts; Wells’s recipes are fiercely precise and personal. If you’re missing a particular tool or appliance (e.g., tea strainer, food processor, baking stone), you’ll need to devise an alternative. VERDICT Wells’s latest is beautiful and instructive, and her recipes and notes are a pleasure to read. If you’re lamenting the loss of Julia Child and Richard Olney, this is a must.

This article was published in Library Journal. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Share
Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  4. Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media, per our Terms of Use.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*