Smaller Press Books from the Show | ALA 2015

dyingWandering the booths at ALA revealed some intriguing books from publishers outside of the big five. Here’s a sample of what I saw.

  • Dzanc Books has a new book by Ella Minnow Pea author Mark Dunn. We Five (Oct.) is “an amalgamation of five novels woven together to tell the same story.”
  • Karen Speerstra & Herbert Anderson’s The Divine Art of Dying (Divine Arts, 2014) is described by the publisher as a book about “how we might die well and live well up to the very end of our physical existence.” It sounds like a good readalike for Atul Guwande’s Being Mortal.
  • Denise Grover Swank’s Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes, Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons, and Thirty and a Half Excuses will be released by Crooked Lane Books in August, September, and October, respectively. In them, protagonist Rose Gardner solves mysteries and finds a dash of romance.
  • Margee Kerr’s new pop-science exploration Scream: Chilling Adventures in the Science of Fear (Perseus) will be released in September. The author is “the in-house sociologist at a nationally renowned haunted house,” says Perseus.
  • Surprise Attack: From Pearl Harbor to 9/11 to Benghazi by Larry Hancock (Counterpoint, Sept.) explores historical and ongoing threats to the United States and exposes failures and other issues in related military and civilian operations.
  • Counterpoint will also release a 30th anniversary edition of Arlene Blum’s Annapurna: A Woman’s Place. The classic climbing memoir will feature a new introduction by climber Steph Davis.
  • Margaret MacMillan’s History’s People: Personalities and the Past (House of Anansi Press) examines various men and women that have had leadership roles in the past.
  • House of Anansi Press has also just released the first print edition of Alen Mattich’s Zagreb Cowboy: A Marko Della Torre Novel. Previously available from Spiderline as an ebook, the “Euro noir,” which is the first title in a series, is set in Yugoslavia in 1991.
  • Parallax Press has released pocket-sized versions of the books in Thich Nhat Hanh’s “Mindfulness Essentials Series.” How to Sit, How to Eat, and How to Love are short ruminations on everyday practices and include instructions for how to do each activity more consciously.
  • Edited and introduced by Evans Lansing Smith, Joseph Campbell’s Romance of the Grail: The Magic and Mystery of Arthurian Myth (New World Library, Nov.) will feature Campbell’s never-before-published master’s thesis on Arthurian myth.
  • Ahead of the new film in 2016, Insight Editions will release Daniel Wallace’s Ghostbusters: The Ultimate Visual History in September.
Share
Henrietta Verma About Henrietta Verma

Henrietta Verma is Senior Editorial Communications Specialist at NISO, the National Information Standards Organization, Baltimore, and was formerly the reviews editor at Library Journal.