LJ Best Books 2016

A jury of our peers discussed, debated, disagreed, and finally declared LJ’s annual Top Ten Best Books of the year, selected by our editors, as well as Top Five lists for genre fiction, nonfiction, poetry, graphic novels, and SELF-e titles. VISIT THE WEBSITE

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

Week ending October 24, 2014

MariNaomi (text & illus.). Dragon’s Breath and Other True Stories. Uncivilized. 2014. 384p. ISBN 9781941250013. pap. $24.95. MEMOIR
dragonsbreath102414Following her highly successful graphic memoir Kiss & Tell, MariNaomi returns with another batch of autobiographical comics. As in the novelist’s previous work, she devotes quite a bit of content to the highs and lows of relationships, but this anthology also includes childhood memories and slice-of-life observations delivered with the same poignant touch. Many of these stories first appeared online, and those origins can be seen in a few cases of excessive white space and odd page layouts. Aside from that minor detail, the art sparkles, combining bold, clean lines with wonderfully expressive faces. Add in a great ear for dialog, and the result is a winning collection that brings the reader genuine laughs and a powerful emotional punch. MariNaomi is definitely a name to watch in the years to come.
Verdict Highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson, as well as midsize to large graphic novels collections.—Neil Derksen, Pierce Cty. Lib. Syst., Tacoma

Share