Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads

Summer is the perfect time to dive into genre fiction, but the hottest titles often have long waiting lists before they even hit library shelves. However, who is to say summer reading has to be hot off the presses? Past and present members of the American Library Association’s (ALA) Reading List Council, which annually presents its picks for the best in genre fiction, are happy to share some of their favorite summer reading choices. The eight genres the council currently considers include adrenaline titles (suspense, thrillers, and action adventure), fantasy, historical fiction, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction, and women’s fiction. So join the queue for the big summer books, but while you’re waiting, try these cool summer backlist favorites.

ADrenaline

This summer promises to deliver exciting new thrillers from Tom Robb Smith (The Farm), James Lee Burke (Wayfaring Stranger), Daniel Silva (The Heist), Gregg Hurwitz (Don’t Look Back), and a stand-alone from Chelsea Cain (One Kick). While you let these blockbusters cool off, why not try one of these picks?

Laukkanen, Owen. Criminal Enterprise. Putnam. 2013. 406p. ISBN 9780399157905. $26.95; ebk. ISBN 9781101609286. F

Carter Tomlin was living the American dream: a successful career, a beautiful wife, and two kids. But after he loses his job and the bills start piling up, Carter impulsively holds up a bank with a simple note. Soon the thrill of robbing banks becomes a drug for Carter and as the money stacks up, the heists become more dangerous and his sense of morality crumbles. VERDICT Fans of Breaking Bad will love this good–man–turned–bad story that has all the pacing of a car careening out of a control and enough stomach-twisting carnage to satisfy adrenaline junkies. (LJ 3/1/13)

Fantasy

Whether you are in line for the latest entry in the popular urban fantasy series by Ilona Andrews (Magic Breaks), the long-awaited latest Outlander novel by Diana Gabaldon (Written in My Own Heart’s Blood), the conclusion of the Magician trilogy from Lev Grossman (The Magician’s Land), or the much-buzzed debut of Erika Johansen (The Queen of the Tearling), don’t forget there are some other great fantasy novels waiting on the shelf.

Morgan, Richard K. The Steel Remains. Del Rey: Ballantine. 2010. ISBN 9780345493040. pap. $13; ebk. ISBN 9780345513441. Fantasy
steelremains051714 Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads

When fallen mercenary Ringil Eskiath’s estranged mother asks him to track down a missing family member, he uncovers a conspiracy involving the beautiful demon race, the Aldrain. It’s going to take every dirty trick Ringil knows and the help of his colorful friends from his days during the great war to uncover the truth and bring justice to the damned. ­VERDICT Unforgettable antiheroes revel in equal amounts of backstabbing, bloodshed, and political intrigue to make this a perfect read-alike for fans of George R.R. ­Martin’s Game of Thrones. (LJ 12/08)

HISTORICAL FICTION

Wallowing in a nice thick historical fiction novel can be the perfect summer escape, and many will be putting holds on new titles by Lisa See (China Dolls), Sally ­Beauman (The Visitors), ­Jacqueline Winspear (The Care and Management of Lies), and a hot debut by ­Lauren Owen (The Quick). These two titles below are just as good, and you won’t have to wait as long.

Giffith, Nicola. Hild. Farrar. 2013. 546p. ISBN 9780374280871. $27; ebk. ISBN 9780374711016. F

hild051714 Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads This is the epic coming-of-age story of Hilda of Whitby, considered to be one of the patron saints of learning and culture. Set in seventh-century Britain, the beautifully written tale brings light to the everyday world of the Dark Ages while exploring a treacherous time. Richly detailed and centered on the friendship of women, Griffith’s tale is fraught with mysticism, battles, and political peril. The use of medieval English helps transport readers into another place and time. VERDICT The author’s meticulous research, worldbuilding, and passion for history shine in this vast and vastly entertaining book that should appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and T.H. White. (LJ 8/13)

HORROR

Nothing cools you off in summer like the chills of a good horror novel. Savvy library users are already putting requests in for the new Stephen King (Mr. ­Mercedes; see review, p. 72) and the latest in Richard Kadrey’s “Sandman Slim” series (The Getaway God), but if you don’t want to wait for your horror fix, try these.

Barron, Laird. The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories. Night Shade: Skyhorse. 2013. 276p. ISBN 9781597804677. $26.99; ebk. ISBN 9781597804684. Horror

Rendered in haunting, elegant prose, the nine interlinked tales in Barron’s latest collection are intricate gems of cosmic horror that gleam with menace. Set in the eerie environs of Olympia, WA, each story presents an intimate character study of a deeply flawed yet strangely sympathetic protagonist whose ­­(mis)adventures instill a mounting sense of dread in the reader before culminating in a shocking, often gruesome denouement. VERDICT Intricate, subtly interconnected tales of terror will delight fans of H.P. Lovecraft.

MYSTERY

For some readers a good mystery and a hammock are the perfect recipe for summer relaxation. The upcoming publishing season promises some big names such as Kathy Reichs (Bones Never Lie), Karin Slaughter (Cop Town), Charles Todd (An Unwilling Accomplice), Marcia Muller (The Night Searchers), or Martha Grimes (Vertigo 42). Don’t want to wait? Try one of these.

turnofmind051714 Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads LaPlante, Alice. Turn of Mind. Atlantic Monthly. 2011. 320p. ISBN 9780802119773. $24; pap. ISBN 9780802145901. $15; ebk. ISBN 9780802195562. M

Amanda O’Toole has been murdered and four of her fingers were surgically removed. The police suspect the victim’s best friend, Dr. Jennifer White, but Jennifer is suffering from Alzheimer’s and has no idea whether or not she committed the murder. Most of the time she doesn’t even realize her friend is dead. VERDICT This is an ingenious mystery with a highly unreliable narrator. Full of twists and turns, it will keep fans of Before I Go To Sleep and Gone Girl guessing right up to the end. (LJ 3/1/11)

ROMANCE

Kicking back with an emotionally satisfying romance is a great way to unwind, and there are some great new ones by favorite authors—Jude Deveraux (For All Time), Mary Balogh (The Escape), Loretta Chase (Vixen in Velvet), and Nalini Singh (Shield of Winter) coming out this summer. But romance fans can’t get enough of their favorite genre, so make sure these older titles are available.

Dare, Tessa. Romancing the Duke. Avon. (Castles Ever After, Bk. 1). 2014. 370p. ISBN 9780062240194. pap. $7.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062240163. Romance

romancing the duke051714 Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads Isolde (Izzy) Goodnight is a self-proclaimed ugly duckling even though she is beloved as a charming character in her father’s famous storybooks. Left destitute after her father’s death, Izzy is surprised by her godfather’s unexpected bequest of Gostley Castle. Unfortunately, the castle is a wreck inhabited by the rakish Ransom, Duke of Rothbury. Wounded and almost blind, Ransom has secluded himself in the castle and refuses to accept Izzy’s claim of ownership. The road to passionately happily-ever-after is never easy, but of course Izzy and Ransom’s true love prevails. ­VERDICT A perfect start to a new series, this spicy Regency lovefest offers an appealing story, witty dialog, and an engagingly quirky cast of characters. (LJ 2/15/14)

SCIENCE FICTION

Science fiction can be both intellectually challenging and fantastically escapist. Sf fans will have their choice of both types with summer releases from John Scalzi (Lock In), Orson Scott Card (Earth Awakens), and M.D. Waters (Archetype). Rocket past those long waiting lists by picking up one of these great alternatives.

jackglass051714 Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads Roberts, Adam. Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer. Gollanz. 2013. 374p. ISBN 9780575127623. $24.95; pap. ISBN 9780575127647. $14.95. SF

The tropes of Golden Age mysteries and sf are referenced in this British Science Fiction Award (BSFA) award winner for best novel. Jack Glass is a celebrated and infamous murderer whose crimes unfold across space in three connected stories. Jack’s guilt is clearly established, but the stories are surprising “howdunits” raising universal questions. VERDICT This is genre-bending, entertaining, slyly thought-provoking, occasionally bloody, and intellectually challenging space opera.

WOMEN’S FICTION

Readers will be filling their beach tote bags this summer with new titles from the fantastic Rainbow Rowell (Landline), Stephanie Evanovich (The Sweet Spot), Jojo Moyes (One Plus One), and Jean Kwok (Mambo in Chinatown). But you can skip the holds if you’re willing to try these great backlist options.

Ratner, Vaddey. In the Shadow of the Banyan. S. & S. 2013. 332p. ISBN 9781451657715. pap. $14.95. F

intheshadowofthebanyan051714 Oldies but Goodies: Genre Backlists for Cool Summer Reads Poetic, evocative, and beautifully written, this is a novel written in lieu of a memoir because the author was too young to remember details regarding her traumatic past. Raami awakens to find the world has completely changed. She is no longer a daughter of privilege but a hated undesirable, forced to flee with her mother after her father is killed. She crosses a landscape of poverty, surviving on bugs and grass in the killing fields of Cambodia. But Raami remains a child of empathy amid the carnage and brutality, seeking reconciliation with her past. VERDICT Gorgeous, lush, and so tragic. (LJ 4/15/12)

This article was published in Library Journal. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Share

Comments

  1. Yourreader may also enjoy Murder in Mexico, my series of twelve mysteries set in and around the upscale expat colony of San Miguel de Allende. Artist Paul Zacher is drawn into crime investigation because ‘he might see things differently.’ Maybe it’s time for the rich humanity of Mexico to show through all the narco headlines! Ready for the real Mexico, beyond the phony news reports? Take a look at this suspenseful and often funny series, available in Print, Kindle, Nook, & Kobo. Start with ‘Twenty Centavos’ by trying a sample on my website.

    http://www.sanmiguelallendebooks.com/titles.html

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin