The American Library Association Announces the Shortlist for the Andrew Carnegie Medals

The American Library Association announced its shortlist for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Cosponsored by Booklist and the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), the awards are drawn from Booklist Editors’ Choice carnegiennonand RUSA Notable Books and made possible by a grant from the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

The nonfiction shortlist includes Nicholas A. Basbanes’s On Paper: The Everything of Its Two-Thousand Year History (Knopf), an overview of paper’s evolution and tremendous impact that was proclaimed a best book by Mother Jones, Bloomberg News, and Kirkus Reviews; Sheri Fink’s Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital (Crown), the Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter’s wrenching account of life-and-death decisions post-Katrina, winner of a National Book Critics Circle Award, as well as an LJ Best Book and one of the New York Times’s Ten Best Books of the Year; and Doris Kearns Goodwin’s The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism (S. & S.), a New York Times Notable Book and Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book, among other honors.

The fiction shortlist led off with Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah (Knopf), a tale of a Nigerian immigrant experiencing culture shock in America that also won the National Book Critics Circle Award and was one of the New York Times’s Ten Best Books of the Year; Edwidge Danticat’s Claire of the Sea Light (Knopf), a novel featuring affecting interlinked stories that was an LJ Best Book; and Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch (Little, Brown), also one of the New York Times’s Ten Best Books of the Year and a richly embellished coming-of-age story that carnegiefictionreceived significant review coverage.

Established in 2012 on the occasion of the Carnegie Corporation centennial, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction honor the best works written for adults in the previous year and aim to help librarians select topnotch materials for their libraries. The shortlist and eventual winners are chosen by an annually appointed committee that includes a chair (Nancy Pearl, 2012–14), three Booklist editors or contributors, and three former members of the RUSA CODES Notable Books Council. The winners will be announced at a medal presentation event at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas in June, with each winning author receiving $5,000 and the four finalists receiving $1,500 each.


Barbara Hoffert About Barbara Hoffert

Barbara Hoffert (, @BarbaraHoffert on Twitter) is Editor, LJ Prepub Alert; past chair of the Materials Selection Committee of the RUSA (Reference and User Services Assn.) division of the American Library Association; and past president of the National Book Critics Circle, to which she has just been reelected.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind


Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin