Alert! Editors’ Picks Webcast! Spring Previews from HarperCollins & Penguin Random House

Amy Einhorn, publisher and vice president of Amy Einhorn Books: Penguin Random House, has published some top-of-the-charts books, among them Kathryn Stockett’s The Help, Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, and Sarah Blake’s The Postmistress. (Personal IMG scally1 Alert! Editors Picks Webcast! Spring Previews from HarperCollins & Penguin Random Housefavorites from her imprint range from Mark T. Mustian’s The Gendarme to Tanis Rideout’s Above All Things). So how immensely cool would it be to hear her discuss her next big titles? Here’s your chance: On Thursday, November 14, at 3:00 p.m., LJ will sponsor its second Editors’ Picks webcast, with five editors from major houses presenting a range of major titles.

Among the books Amy is presenting, I’m particularly excited to hear about Courtney Collins’s The Untold, a fictionalized account of real-life Jessie Hickman, a female bushranger and outlaw in 1920s Australia. Hmm, do we have a female Cormac McCarthy here? In any case, Elizabeth Gilbert calls it “extraordinary,” and the cover’s horse stampede through dust and sunlight suggests power and atmosphere. More good stuff from Amy: Carol Wall’s Mister Owita’s Guide to Gardening, rumored to be a truly affecting memoir, and Deborah Johnson’s The Secret of Magic, which draws its power from Civil Rights issues.collins1 Alert! Editors Picks Webcast! Spring Previews from HarperCollins & Penguin Random House

You can thank David Highfill, Vice President and Executive Editor, William Morrow and Avon Books, for bringing you Wiley Cash’s A Land More Kind Than Home (an LJ Best Book), and now you can thank him for bringing you Cash’s new novel, This Dark Road of Mercy, the story of a wayward father’s bonding efforts gone awry. Another title David will present at the Editors’ Picks webcast that really intrigues me is Ann Scott Tyson’s American Spartan: The Promise, the Mission, and the Betrayal of Special Forces Major Jim Gant, about an Army Special Forces Major whose commitment to working with indigenous fighters in Afghanistan and Iraq changed our military strategies in those countries. There’s a love story here, too, but you’ll have to join us at the webcast to find out more.

David’s final title is Peter Swanson’s The Girl with the Clock for a Heart, a noirish debut that Dennis Lehane calls a “twisty, sexy, electric thrill ride,” so clearly you won’t want to miss. David’s colleague Carrie Feron, Senior Vice President and Executive Editor, William Morrow and Avon Books, also has new voices to offer. You’ll want to check out Sonja Condit’s Starter House (compared to Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale) and Mary Hogan’s Two Sisters (recommended for fans of Jodi Picoult). And why should you attend to these titles? Because Carrie is not only the editor of Laura Lippman—and yes, she’ll present Lippman’s lippmanlaura1 Alert! Editors Picks Webcast! Spring Previews from HarperCollins & Penguin Random Housenew standalone, After I’m Gone—but folks like Meg Cabot, Mary Jane Clark, Deborah Crombie, and Dorothea Benton as well.

Looking for some good book club reads? Especially good women’s fiction? In a nice paperback format? I’m pleased that the Editors’ Picks webcast is also featuring Ellen Edwards, Executive Editor, New American Library/Penguin Random House. She’ll tell you about Susan Meissner’s Fall of Marigolds, a multigenerational tale tied together by a beautiful shawl; Donna Thorland’s The Rebel Pirate: Renegades of the Revolution, featuring a reluctant female pirate in 1775 Boston; and Erika Robuck’s Fallen Beauty, about a small-town girl’s scandal in the late 1920s that also depicts the life of poet Edna St. Vincent Millay. Fun, fall-in-bed reads, all.

Finally, let’s not forget Zachary Wagman, Senior Editor, Crown Publishers and Hogarth, since he’s already brought us Chris Pavone’s absorbing best seller, The Ex-Pats. As Zach will tell us, Pavone is back with The Accident, which offers an insider’s look at publishing with a accident Alert! Editors Picks Webcast! Spring Previews from HarperCollins & Penguin Random Housethriller twist. Zach also has hot debuts for you: Monica Byrne’s The Girl in the Road, billed as a blend of Margaret Atwood, Neil Gaiman, and Erin Morgenstern, and Kenneth Calhoun’s Black Moon, about the ultimate dystopian nightmare—people can’t sleep. (Fans of Karen Thompson Walker’s The Age of Miracles and Peter Heller’s The Dog Stars, pay attention; the opening chapters were chilling.) So register now for our webcast on Thursday, November 14, at 3:00 p.m. And remember, if you can’t be available at that time, you can still have access to the archives later.

Share
Barbara Hoffert About Barbara Hoffert

Barbara Hoffert (bhoffert@mediasourceinc.com, @BarbaraHoffert on Twitter) is Editor, LJ Prepub Alert; past chair of the Materials Selection Committee of the RUSA (Reference and User Services Assn.) division of the American Library Association; and past president of the National Book Critics Circle, to which she has just been reelected.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin