SF/Fantasy: Newsworthy | July 2013

This year’s Compton Crook Award for best first novel has been awarded to Myke Cole for Shadow Ops: Control Point. The award includes a $1,000 prize and guest-of-honor status at the next two Balticons, held in Baltimore.

Sadly we note the passing of Jack Vance (1916–2013), who died on May 26. A major force in sf and fantasy since the publication of his first story, “The World Thinker,” in 1945, Vance authored the classic “Dying Earth” series, as well as the “Lyonesse” and “Demon Princes” series.

His novellas, The Dragon Masters and The Last Castle, won Hugo Awards. In 1997, the Science Fiction Writers of America named him a Grand Master. Vance was also awarded the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement. His archly elegant style of writing and his intelligent, articulate approach to storytelling set a high standard for the genre.

Thanks to www.sfsite.com/news for providing the above information.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind


Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin