Mystery: Debut of the Month | May 1, 2013

carved Mystery: Debut of the Month | May 1, 2013OrangeReviewStar Mystery: Debut of the Month | May 1, 2013 Beaumont, Maegan. Carved in Darkness. Midnight Ink. May 2013. 408p. ISBN 9780738736891. pap. $14.99.M

Sabrina, a tough, competent San Francisco homicide officer, carries a secret history so dark she never dares to let down her guard. Once held hostage, sexually assaulted, and left for dead, she has taken on a new identity and relocated far from her small-town Texas roots. But now she’s been outed by her former neighbor, trained mercenary Michael O’Shea, whose own little sister was brutally killed by the same man who terrorized Sabrina. It seems the attacker finds a new victim annually on Sabrina’s birthday, and this has been going on for more than a dozen years. Another year is up and Sabrina must finally confront her demon, though
the road will be violent and harrowing. VERDICT Prepare to be overwhelmed by the tension and moodiness that permeates this edgy thriller. Beaumont’s ability to keep the twists coming even when the answer seems obvious is quite
potent. This debut would please Chelsea Cain readers. Consider also for fans of Robin Burcell and Michelle Gagnon.

Share

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin