Wyatt’s World: Readalikes for the Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction

CarrytheOne Wyatts World: Readalikes for the Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & NonfictionThe Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright and Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman by Robert K. Massie have won the inaugural Carnegie Medals for best fiction and nonfiction of the year, handed out last week at ALA in Anaheim. For readers looking for more once they finish the award winners, consider the following readalikes:

For The Forgotten Waltz, suggest titles that also stress lyrical and poetic language and excel at creating memorable and fully formed characters:

  • Carry the One by Carol Anshaw (S. & S.)
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht (Random)
  • Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Picador)

For Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, recommend biographies that also engagingly blend historical detail, an accessible style, and a commitment to bringing the historical character out from behind the curtain of myth:APerfectUnion Wyatts World: Readalikes for the Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction

  • A Perfect Union: Dolley Madison and the Creation of the American Nation by Catherine Allgor (Holt)
  • Titan: The Life of John D. Rockefeller, Sr. by Ron Chernow (Vintage: Random)
  • Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff (Little, Brown)

 

Share
Neal Wyatt About Neal Wyatt

Neal Wyatt compiles LJ's online feature Wyatt's World and is the author of The Readers' Advisory Guide to Nonfiction (ALA Editions, 2007). She is a collection development and readers' advisory librarian from Virginia. Those interested in contributing to The Reader's Shelf should contact her directly at Readers_Shelf@comcast.net

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin