Wyatt’s World: Out-of-Print RA

KindoftheCastle Wyatts World: Out of Print RAThere is nothing like finding a book that is all but forgotten to the world. Thanks to interlibrary loan and generous weeding policies, libraries are often a haven for such titles. Through RA efforts, we can mine these way back list titles and deliver distinctive read-alikes.

Nancy Pearl is doing this through her “Book Lust Rediscovery” series (see the first of her summer guest posts for LJ), but RA librarians can do it with an endless list of titles currently housed in their libraries. To get started, here are five o.p. titles for your romantic suspense readers (all of which serve as read-alikes for Mary Stewart):

• Waiting for Willa by Dorothy Eden (Fawcett)
• A Man From the Mist by Mary Elgin (Bantam)
‚Ä¢ Red Sky at Night Lovers’ Delight by Jane Aiken Hodge (Fawcett)
• The Bride of Kilkerran by Kathleen Westcott (Pocket: S. & S.)
• King of the Castle by Victoria Holt (Grafton)

Share
Neal Wyatt About Neal Wyatt

Neal Wyatt compiles LJ's online feature Wyatt's World and is the author of The Readers' Advisory Guide to Nonfiction (ALA Editions, 2007). She is a collection development and readers' advisory librarian from Virginia. Those interested in contributing to The Reader's Shelf should contact her directly at Readers_Shelf@comcast.net

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin