Wyatt’s World: The Carnegie Medals Short List

ALA and the Carnegie Corporation have partnered to create the Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, a new book award for the single most outstanding book of the year in fiction and nonfiction for adults. The short list of candidates was announced late last week. All six titles offer wonderful reading experiences that can be suggested to a wide audience.


  • Lost Memory of Skin by Russell Banks (Ecco: HarperCollins)
  • The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright (Norton)
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (Knopf)


  • The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood by James Gleick (Pantheon)
  • Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Manning Marable (Penguin)
  • Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman by Robert K. Massie (Random)
Neal Wyatt About Neal Wyatt

Neal Wyatt compiles LJ's online feature Wyatt's World and is the author of The Readers' Advisory Guide to Nonfiction (ALA Editions, 2007). She is a collection development and readers' advisory librarian from Virginia. Those interested in contributing to The Reader's Shelf should contact her directly at Readers_Shelf@comcast.net

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin