Last-Minute Christian Fiction Reviews

Copeland, Lori. Love Blooms in Winter. Harvest House. (Dakota Diaries, Bk. 1). 2012. c.240p. ISBN 9780736930192. pap. $13.99. CF

Postmistress Mae Wilkey’s neighbor Pauline is suffering from dementia and needs help. Pauline doesn’t think she has any relatives who can help her, but Mae searches Pauline’s desk until she finds a name-Tom Curtis. After receiving two desperate pleas from Mae, he travels to visit the woman who thinks he’s her long-lost nephew. When he arrives, he finds more than he bargained for, including the woman who might just be his soul mate. VERDICT In her latest inspirational romance, best-selling author Copeland (The One Who Waits for Me) demonstrates her sharp eye for historical detail in depicting 1892 North Dakota. This warm series launch is a sure bet for fans of Lauraine Snelling.

Liparulo, Robert. The 13th Tribe. Thomas Nelson. (Immortal Files, Bk. 1). Apr. 2012. c.400p. ISBN 9781595541697. pap. $16.99. CF

Of the 12 tribes of Israel that turned to worship a golden calf while Moses was on Mt. Sinai, 40 men have been cursed to walk the earth for all time. Desperate to prove themselves worthy of forgiveness, they have traveled across time with one intent: kill sinners and gain entry into heaven. Now Jagger Baird, a former Army Ranger who is now head of security for an archaeological dig on Sinai, must face this band of twisted immortals before it is too late. VERDICT The author of Comes a Horseman ushers in an exciting new series with this action-packed and intricately plotted spiritual thriller that should appeal to fans of Frank Peretti and Oliver North.

scent Last Minute Christian Fiction ReviewsWoodsmall, Cindy. The Scent of Cherry Blossoms. WaterBrook: Random. Feb. 2012. c.208p. ISBN 9780307446558. pap. $14.99. CF

Annie Martin is an Old Order Mennonite (electricity and telephones are allowed in her sect). Aden Zook is an Old Order Amish. Together, they run Zook’s Diner, while Aden also looks after his wheelchair-bound twin brother, Roman. Annie knows that Aden is kind, but she also knows he’s so much more-he’s a talented artist. The two share romantic feelings that they must fight. A life together just might mean the loss of the business and of family. VERDICT This bittersweet and heartwarming story by the popular author of the “Ada’s House” and “Sisters of the Quilt” Amish series is sure to appeal to fans of Wanda E. Brunstetter and Richard Paul Evans.

CF in Brief

Jennings, Regina. Sixty Acres and a Bride. Bethany. Feb. 2012. c.368p. ISBN 9780764209901. pap. $14.99. CF

A vivacious young widow returns to the family ranch in Texas and finds that the county is demanding back taxes she cannot pay. Several men offer to help her out of her bind, but only one of them seems honorable. A fresh voice in Christian historical romance makes her debut with this lovely Texas twist on the biblical story of Ruth and Boaz.

John, Sally. Heart Echoes. Tyndale House. (Side Roads). Mar. 2012. c.368p. ISBN 9781414327877. pap. $13.99. CF

After an earthquake rocks Los Angeles, Teal Morgan-Adams takes her rebellious teenage daughter, Maiya, home to Cedar Pointe, OR. Though Maiya loves her stepfather, she is determined to find the identity of her biological father-a secret that Teal has never revealed to anyone, not even Maiya’s real father. John’s (Ransomed Dreams; Desert Gift) latest take on life’s unexpected detours will please readers of inspirational women’s fiction.

Pura, Murray. The Wings of Morning. Harvest House. (Snapshots in History). 2012. c.300p. ISBN 9780736948777. pap. $13.99. CF

In 1917, the Amish have forbidden the use of telephones or the owning of motor cars, but they have not yet banned electricity or airplanes. Jude Whetstone and Lyyndaya Kurtz have fallen in love, but Jude has also taken a shine to flying airplanes. When Jude is tricked into enlisting into the armed services, he is shunned from his community, much to Lyyndaya’s despair. A new historical series from a Canadian pastor whose books (Mizzly Fitch) have been shortlisted for the Dartmouth Book Award, the John Hill Spencer Literary Award, and the Paraclete Fiction Award.-Nanci Milone Hill, Boxford Town Lib., MA

Share

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin